Awards and Recognitions

Alice Cronin-Golomb

  • 2016  Mentorship Award in Aging, American Psychological Association, Division 20, Adult Development and Aging
  • 2013-2014 Visiting Professor, Unit of Functional Imaging, Geriatric Institute Research Centre, Université de Montréal, Montréal QC, Canada
  • 2012 United Methodist Church Scholar/Teacher of the Year Award
  • 2005 Visiting Scholar, School of Psychology, University of Sydney, Australia
  • 2005 Honorary Senior Research Associate, Prince of Wales Medical Research Institute, Randwick NSW, Australia
  • 1996-1997 Visiting Scholar, Department of Psychology, Stanford University
Professional Societies, Officer or Fellow:
  • International Society for Behavioral Neuroscience (President 2002-2006; Vice President 1999-2002; Executive Committee 1994-1996)
  • American Psychological Association (Fellow of Division 6, Behavioral Neuroscience and Comparative Psychology; Division 20, Adult Development and Aging; Division 40, Clinical Neuropsychology [Society for Clinical Neuropsychology]; Membership Board 2010-2013)
  • Association for Psychological Science (Fellow)
  • Psychonomic Society (Fellow)
  • Gerontological Society of America (Fellow)
  • Eastern Psychological Association (Fellow)
Professional Societies, Member:
  • Society for Neuroscience, Movement Disorders Society, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society, Massachusetts Neuropsychological Society


Sandy Neargarder

  • Recipient of the Presidential Award for Distinguished Teaching at Bridgewater State University. Two faculty members are chosen per year by a committee of faculty and students to receive this award. Recipients are chosen based on classroom observation, teaching philosophy, syllabi, course evaluations, and letters of recommendation from faculty and students, 2008
  • Recipient of the Excellence in Teaching Award from the Education Honors Society, Kappa Delta Pi at Bridgewater State University. I was the first-ever faculty member to receive the award, 2007

Jade Wu:

Erica Appleman:

  • Clara Mayo Research Award, Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, Boston University, 2017
  • Massachusetts Neuropsychological Society, Board of Directors, Student Representative (2015-2017) and Education Committee Co-Chair (2016 – present)
  • Association of Neuropsychology Students in Training, Chapter Representative, 2015 – 2017
  • Accepted to participate in the course Fostering New Directions in Parkinson’s Research (May, 2015). Won second prize in research proposal competition.

Rob Salazar:

  • Accepted to participate in the course Fostering New Directions in Parkinson’s Research (May, 2015). Won first prize in research proposal competition.
  • Nelson Butters Award honorable mention at the Massachusetts Neuropsychological Society Science Symposium, 2014

Ollie Barthelemy:

  • Walter G. McMillen Award for Parkinson’s Disease Research, American Psychological Association, Division 20 (Adult Development and Aging), 2017
  • Ford Foundation Fellowship (National Academies) Honorable Mention (alternate), 2014 and 2015

Emma Weizenbaum:

  • Outstanding Teaching Fellow, Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, Boston University, 2016-2017
  • Professional Development Grant, Graduate Women in Science and Engineering (GWISE), 2015

Ryan Piers

  • Paper featured by Medscape Psychiatry, July 2016: Piers, J., Nishtala, A., Preis, S. R., DeCarli, C., Wolf, P. A., Benjamin, E. J., & Au, R. (2016). Association between Atrial Fibrillation and Volumetric MRI Brain Measures: Framingham Offspring Study. Heart Rhythm, 13(10), 2020-2024.
  • Student Liaison Committee Research Award (one of best research submissions by a student), 43rd Annual Meeting of the International Neuropsychological Society (INS), Denver, CO, 2015. For: Piers et al., Clock Drawing in a Healthy Community Sample: A Principal Component Analysis.

Joshua Fuller:

Recognition of our some of our former lab members for noteworthy achievements:

Kirschstein National Research Service Awards (NIH).  Predoctoral:  Gretchen Reynolds, Abhishek Jaywant, Mirella Diaz-Santos, Dan Norton, Justin Centi, Karina Stavitsky, Yelena Bogdanova, Karen Sullivan, Uraina Clark, Courtney Dirksen.  Postdoctoral:  Haline Schendan.

American Psychological Association, Walter G. McMillen Award for Parkinson’s Disease Research, Division 20 (Adult Development and Aging) and Division 40 (Society for Clinical Neuropsychology):  Deepti Putcha, Justin Centi.

American Psychological Association Minority Fellowship:  Mirella Diaz-Santos, Uraina Clark

American Psychological Association, Award for Completed Doctoral Research, Division 20 (Adult Development and Aging):  Uraina Clark

American Psychological Association, Henry Hécaen Award in Clinical Neuropsychology:  Lena Bogdanova

Sigma Xi, the National Honor Society for Science, administered by the National Academy of Sciences, Grant in Aid of Research:  Daniel Seichepine, Tom Laudate, Veronica Gross, Sigurros Davidsdottir, Saumya Sharma, Melissa Amick, Courtney Dirksen, Tracy Dunne

Parkinson’s Disease Foundation, Summer Student Fellowship: Ivy Miller, Tom Laudate

American Association of Retired Persons (AARP) Andrus Gerontology Fellowship:  Kristine Hanna

Rossano Mind, Brain & Behavior Pre-Doctoral Summer Fellowship, McLean Hospital:  Dan Norton

Presidential Fellowship, Boston University Graduate School of Arts and Sciences:  Dan Norton, Ivy Miller

World Congress on Parkinson’s Disease and Related Disorders Travel Award:  Gretchen Reynolds, Dan Norton, Mirella Diaz-Santos, Daniel Seichepine, Karina Stavitsky

Rising Star (and travel scholarship), 2017 Geriatrics Research conference: From Bench to Bedside Workshop, National Institute on Aging U13/American Geriatrics Society:  Uraina Clark, Daniel Seichepine

Society for Neuroscience, Women in Neuroscience Travel Award:  Tracy Dunne, Fred Rocco

Assembly of Scientist/Practitioner Psychologists, APA Council of Representatives Meeting, Travel Award:  Gretchen Reynolds

Massachusetts Neuropsychological Society, Nelson Butters Award (best student research):  Fred Rocco (award); Rob Salazar (honorable mention)

Special mention of students with multiple additional individual awards:

Mirella Diaz-Santos:  Tony Wong Diversity Student Award, National Academy of Neuropsychology Culture and Diversity Committee; Implementation Grant Funds (IGF) Award, American Psychological Association (APA)/Commission on Ethnic Minority Recruitment, Retention, and Training II; Psychology Summer Institute Fellowship, APA Minority Fellowship Program; Advanced Training Institute Fellowship: Research Methods with Diverse Racial & Ethnic Groups, APA Science Directorate/Michigan State University

Uraina Clark:  2016 – 2018 Suffrage Scientist Award (Women in Science Award), Medical Research Council, Clinical Sciences Centre, United Kingdom (one of 11 recipients worldwide); 2017 Travel Award, American College of Neuropsychopharmacology