Syllabus
Week I
Tue, Sept. 7
Introduction
Thur, Sept 9
The Book of Genesis: Beginnings
Week II
Tue, Sept. 14
Exodus
Thur, Sept. 16 Jewish New Year (Holiday-class cancelled)
Paper I (due Sept 21):
 The Character of YHWH in Genesis and Exodus
Week III
Tue, Sept 21
Leviticus, Numbers
Thur, Sept 23
Deuteronomy
Week IV
Tue, Sept 28
Joshua, Judges
Thur, Sept 30
Samuel, Kings
Paper II (due Oct 5):
The Israelites: The Polity and Its Leaders
Week V
Tue, Oct 5
Ezra, Nehemiah, Chronicles
Thur, Oct 7
Hosea, Amos, Isaiah 1-39
Week VI
Tue Oct 12
Jeremiah (esp. Jer 1-3, 7, 9, 11, 22-23, 25-31, 34, 36, 50-52), Isaiah 40-66 (esp. 40, 42-44, 45-46, 53, 60, 62, 66), The Book of Jonah
Thur, Oct 14
Job (esp. Job 1-2 and 42:7ff, Job 3-10, 36-42:6), Psalms (esp. Ps 1, 2, 23, 51, 68, 78, 84, 89-93, 137, 139), Proverbs (esp. 1-9, 22:17-23:11, 31:10-31), Ecclesiastes (esp. Eccl. 1-3, 11-12)
Paper III (due Oct 19):
Prophecy and Covenant
Week VII
Tue, Oct 19
Tobit
Thur, Oct 21
Daniel, 1 Maccabees, 4 Maccabees
Midterm (take home) Due Oct. 26
Week VIII
Thur, Oct 26
Scripture in Jewish Tradition
Tue, Oct 28
Scripture in Christian Tradition
Week IX
Tue, Nov 2
The Gospel of Mark
Thur, Nov 4
Matthew and Luke
Week X
Tue, Nov 9
Gospel of John
Thur, Nov 11 (no classes)
Week XI
Tue, Nov 16
Apocalypse
Thur, Nov 18
The Book of Acts
Week XII
Tue, Nov 23
Galatians, 1 Korinthians
Thur, Nov 25 (Thanksgiving recess)
Week XIII
Tue, Nov 30
Romans
Thur, Dec 2
Hebrews, James, 1 Peter, Jude
Paper IV (due Dec 7):
Cur deus homo: Theologies of Sin and Atonement
Week XIV
Tue, Dec 7 Review
Thur, Dec 9 Review
Final Exam (scheduled date tba)