Affiliated Faculty

Affiliated Materials Science and Engineering (MSE) faculty are scientifically associated with the MSE program and serve as advisors and thesis committee members.


Faculty are listed separately
.

Faculty Member Research
Professor Barbone Paul Barbone
Professor
College of Engineering
ME
barbone@bu.edu
617-353-6063
Theoretical and computational (bio) mechanics, multi-scale modeling, microstructure, theoretical and computational acoustics.
baxter-new Ethan Baxter
Associate Professor
College of Arts and Sciences
Earth & Environment
efb@bu.edu
617-358-2844
Isotope geochemistry, petrology, and mineralogy to understand the evolution of the solid Earth including the role of minerals in the storage and cycling of water and carbon-dioxide.
Professor Bifano Thomas G. Bifano
Professor; Director, Photonics Center
College of Engineering
ME
tgb@bu.edu
617-353-8899
Deformable mirrors, microelectromechanical systems (MEMS), adaptive optics.
Bird-James-2012p James C. Bird
Assistant Professor
College of Engineering
ME
jbird@bu.edu
617-358-6929
Interfacial fluid dynamics, fluid-solid interactions, microfluidics, electrohydrodynamics, drops and bubbles
Professor Caradonna John Caradonna
Associate Professor
College of Arts and Sciences
Chemistry
caradonn@bu.edu
617-353-1692
Mechanism of action of non-heme iron metalloproteins with a focus on the chemistry of metalloenzyme active sites involved in biological oxidation reactions.
Professor Castro-Neto Antonio Castro-Neto
Professor
College of Arts and Sciences
Physics
neto@bu.edu
617-353-6116
Graphene, strongly correlated systems, disordered magnetic systems.
Professor Chamon Claudio Chamon
Professor
College of Arts and Sciences
Physics
chamon@bu.edu
617-353-5787
Strongly correlated quantum matter and out-of-equilibrium dynamics of classlical and quantum systems.
Chen, Xin Xin Chen
Assistant  Professor
College of Arts and Sciences
Chemistry
xc2011@bu.edu
616-358-6188
Physical surface chemistry of soft materials.
Professor Chou Laisheng Chou
Professor
Goldman School of Dental MedicineRestorative Sciences/Biomaterialsl
chou@bu.edu
617-638-5598
Molecular biocompatibility of implant materials.
david-coker-240x300 David Coker
Professor
College of Arts and Sciences
Chemistry
coker@bu.edu
617-353-2490

The Coker Group uses and develops new theoretical and computational methods to explore how electronic and vibrational excitation of reactant molecules in different environments can influence the outcome of chemical reactions of these molecules.
James Collins
Professor
College of Engineering
BME
jcollins@bu.edu
617-353-0390
Synthetic biology; systems biology; noise-enhanced sensorimotor function
Chuanhua-Duan Chuanhua Duan
Assistant Professor
College of Engineering
ME
duan@bu.edu
617-353-3270
Energy conversion and storage, Micro/nanofluidics, Phase change heat transfer
Professor El-Batanouny Michael El-Batanouny
Professor
College of Arts and Sciences
Physics
elbat@bu.edu
617-353-4721
Magnetism at surfaces.
Professor Faul Ulrich Faul
Associate Professor
College of Arts and Sciences
Earth Science
ufaul@bu.edu
617-358-4341
Rock physics and upper mantle processes.
Fine-Gerry-p Gerry Fine
Professor of the Practice
College of Engineering
ME
gjfine@bu.edu
617-353-5664
Product design and innovation, manufacturing/operations strategy and management, formation and management of technology ventures, advanced manufacturing techniques
Professor Frank-Kamenetskii Maxim Frank-Kamenetskii
Professor
College of Engineering
BME
mfk@bu.edu
617-353-8498
DNA, pNA DNA structures; DNA topology; DNA functioning, PNA (peptide nucleic acid).
Professor Jones Guilford Jones
Professor
College of Arts and Sciences
Chemistry
giljones@bu.edu
617-353-8656
Photochemistry and photophysical properties of dyes, dye probes, and chromophore conjugates of polymers and proteins. Design of photosynthetic models (photoactive peptides) that are capable of charge transport.
Professor Klein William Klein
Professor
College of Arts and Science
Physics
klein@bu.edu
617-353-2188
Statistical physics of materials.
Professor McDaniel J. Gregory McDaniel
Associate Professor
College of Engineering
ME
jgm@bu.edu
617-353-4847
Structural acoustics and interactions of vibrations and acoustics with complex structures and media.
Professor Meller Amit Meller
Associate Professor
College of Engineering
BME
ameller@bu.edu
617-358-4338
Biomolecular interactions and dynamics, single molecule sensors, nanomaterials, biopolymers.
mohanty Pritiraj Mohanty
Professor
College of Arts and SciencesPhysics
mohanty@bu.edu
617-353-2600
Nanoscale materials, mechanical properties.
Professor Morse Theodore Morse
Professor Emeritus
College of Engineering
ECE
tfmorse@bu.edu
617-353-2811
Aerosol techniques for the synthesis of fiber lasers, unagglommerated nanoscale particles. Recent efforts have also been in the areas of synthesis of transparent, polycrystalline ceramics for high power laser applications, and for the use of these particles in the development of large scale gamma-ray scintillators for medical imaging and explosive detection.
Professor Nathanson Dan Nathanson
Professor
Goldman School of Dental Medicine
Restorative Sciences/Biomaterials
dnathan@bu.edu
617-638-4702
Biomaterials with emphasis is on esthetic restorative materials.
Professor Park Harold Park
Associate Professor
College of Engineering
ME
parkhs@bu.edu
617-353-4208
Surface effects on the mechanical properties of nanoelectromechanical systems, coupled physics (thermomechanical, optomechanical, electromechanical) analyses of nanomaterials, mechanics of graphene, multiple scale modeling of solids, atomistic modeling of metal nanowites.
Professor Pober Richard Pober
Research Associate Professor
Goldman School of Dental Medicine
Restorative Sciences/Biomaterials
rpober@bu.edu
617-638-5685
Ceramics engineering, interpenetrating phase materials, mechanics of materials, materials design, process design, equipment design.
Professor Polkovnikov Anatoli Polkovnikov
Associate Professor
College of Arts and Sciences
Physics
asp@bu.edu
617-358-4394
Strongly correlated systems, physics of cold atoms and spin systems, superconductivity.
Porter-20101 Tyrone Porter
Associate Professor
College of Engineering
ME
tmp@bu.edu
617-353-7366
Integration of ultrasound technologies with chemical and biomolecular engineered vesicles for diagnostic and therapeutic applications.
Professor Rebbi Claudio Rebbi
Professor
College of Arts and Sciences
Physics
rebbi@bu.edu
617-353-9058
Computational methods applied to the study of quantum chromodynamics (QCD, the theory of interacting quarks and gluons).
Professor Redner Sidney Redner
Professor
College of Arts and Sciences
Physics
redner@bu.edu
617-353-2618
Non-equilibrium statistical physics of materials.
Professor Reinhard Björn M. Reinhard
Associate Professor
College of Arts and Sciences
Chemistry
bmr@bu.edu
617-358-0511
Photophysical properties of nanoparticles and the applications of these nanoparticles to biological sensors and devices.
Emily-Ryan Emily Ryan
Assistant Professor
College of Engineering
ME
ryanem@bu.edu
617-353-7767
Heat transfer , thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, reactive transport, fuel cells, electrochemistry, energy systems, competitive adsorption, pore-scale phenomena, porous media, computational and multi-scale modeling, engineering educational outreach
Michelle-Sander-Web Michelle Sander
Assistant Professor
College of Engineering
ECE
msander@bu.edu
617 358-0505
Femtosecond lasers, ultrafast photonics and nonlinear processes, fiber and integrated optics, frequency combs, infrared spectroscopy and biomedical applications
Professor Sandvik Anders Sandvik
Professor
College of Arts and SciencesPhysics
sandvik@bu.edu
617-353-3843
Computational research on interacting quantum many-body systems.
Professor Schmidt Aaron Schmidt
Assistant Professor
College of Engineering
ME
schmidt@bu.edu
617-353-3843
Nanoscale energy transport, ultrafast laser metrology, and laser-material interaction.
Professor Segrè Daniel Segrè
Associate Professor
College of Engineering
BME
dsegre@bu.edu
617-358-2301
Evolutionary dynamics of biological networks, in particular in the interplay between response to genetic and environmental perturbations, genomic-level functional organization, and optimal adaptation.
Professor Sharon Andre Sharon
Professor
College of Engineering
ME
sharon@bu.edu
617-353-8776
Electromechanical machine design, controls, automation, biotech/biomedical instrumentation, devices, and rapid micro-diagnostics platforms.
Professor Smith Michael L. Smith
Associate Professor
College of Engineering
BME
msmith@bu.edu
617-358-5489
Mechanotransduction via the extracellular matrix; fibronectin; engineered cell culture platforms for regulating and measuring cell behavior in vitro.
Professor Stanley H. Eugene Stanley
Professor
College of Arts and Sciences
Physics
hes@bu.edu
617-353-2617
Statistical physics of materials.
Professor Suki Bela Suki
Professor
College of Engineering
BME
bsuki@bu.edu
617-353-5907
Biomechanics of tissues and extracellular matrix, the ensemble behavior of complex biological systems; nonlinearities in biological systems.
Professor Tien Joe Tien
Associate Professor
College of Engineering
BME
jtien@bu.edu
617-358-3055
Biological materials, microvascular tissue engineering; microvascular physiology; hydrogels.
tsui Daniel Tsui
Research Professor
College of Engineering
ECE
tsui@bu.edu
617-353-1334
Fundamental properties of electronic materials, especially conduction in ultra-small structures, transport, and quantum physics of electronic materials in strong magnetic fields and low temperatures, in particular, the quantum phases and their phase transitions.
Professor Zhang Katherine Yanhang Zhang
Associate Professor
College of Engineering
ME
yanhang@bu.edu
617-358-4406
Mechanical behavior of soft biological tissue, multi-scale modeling of biological composites, thin film mechanics.
Professor Ziegler Lawrence Ziegler
Professor; Chair of Chemistry
College of Arts and Sciences
Chemistry
lziegler@bu.edu
617-353-8663
Ultrafast femtosecond laser measurements in a variety of materials, femtosecond carrier relaxation dynamics and optical properties of wide range of materials which include liquids, supercritical fluids, photodissociative molecules, biologically important species and wide band gap semiconductors.
Zink-Peter-c Peter A. Zink
Research Assistant Professor/Lecturer
College of Engineering
ME
pzink@bu.edu
617-358-1631
Electrochemical sensors, ceramics materials synthesis, energy storage and conversion, fuel cells.