Professional Development

Chadwick Fellowship Award

Endowed by alumna Patricia Chadwick (MET ’75), the Chadwick Fellowship Award provides funds to be used for the professional development of faculty and staff.  Each academic year, one member of the faculty and one member of the staff are selected to receive direct support for activities that advance their learning and create further opportunities for innovation. See the list of Chadwick Fellowship Award winners.

Proposals are accepted between January and the end of March each year, and should include your statement of interest (1–2 pages), budget, supplementary materials (if necessary), and a statement of support from your department chair or supervisor.

For more information and for the application form, download the Call for Proposals.

Chadwick Fellows 2015–2016

Recipients of the 2015–2016 Chadwick Fellowship are:

Faculty: Lecturer in Gastronomy Karen Metheny (GRS’02)

The award will fund work on Dr. Metheny’s project, “The Cultural ‘Other’ in Colonial New England: The Duality of Maize.” This multidisciplinary study of maize and its significance to New England colonists will challenge its portrayal as a famine food or poor substitute for wheat. The Chadwick Fellowship will allow Metheny to conduct archival research at a number of New England historical societies and will enhance teaching materials for a number of Gastronomy classes.

Staff: Distance Education Senior Media Producer Ed Wozniak (COM’06)

The award will fund Wozniak’s exploration of “Best Practices and Relationship Building in Media Production,” with the specific purpose of developing the expertise needed to establish a more accessible online environment in distance learning programs. Wozniak will spend a week “shadowing” the director of media services at the University of Wisconsin–Extension, while also attending the University’s Distance Teaching and Learning Conference.

Learn more about past Chadwick Fellowship Award winners.