North America Business Guide

Regional Sources

Asian Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

Asian Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) An association of nations around the Pacific rim aiming at the creation of a Pacific free trade area. APEC was set up in 1990; its members include Australia, Canada, Chile, China, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Singapore, and the US. It aims at creating a free trade area for its industrialized members by 2010, and its less-developed members by 2020. When complete this will cover a large percentage of world trade.

Group of Eight (G8) (formerly Group of Seven, G7) Information Centre

The G8 Information Centre is provided by the University of Toronto Library and the G8 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Eight nations that meet for an annual economic summit meeting. In 1975, the heads of government of what were the world’s seven wealthiest nations “the USA, Japan, Germany, Britain, France, Canada, and Italy “ met in the first of these meetings. The changing world economy led other countries to seek membership. In 1997, Russia was formally admitted to the group.

“Group of Eight” World Encyclopedia. Philip’s, 2005. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press. Boston University. 8 January 2006