Faculty Research Interests

In general, any individual faculty member can effectively supervise only a very limited number of Supervised Research and Writing Projects, and only in areas in which a faculty member has special expertise. Typically, students will directly contact faculty members who teach in a subject area in which the student desires to undertake a Supervised Research and Writing Project. Please note only three credits worth of Supervised Research and Writing will be approved for any one student over the course of their law school career.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
 
Susan M. Akram
Clinical Professor of Law
E-mail: smakram@bu.edu
Interests: Immigration law, refugee law, domestic and international refugee advocacy
 
George J. Annas
Professor of Law
William Fairfield Warren Distinguished Professor and Chairman,
Health Law, Bioethics & Human Rights Department,
Boston University School of Public Health
E-mail: annasgj@bu.edu
Interests: Health Law
Back to top
 
Michael S. Baram
Professor of Law Emeritus
Professor of Health Law: Boston University School of Public Health
E-mail: mbaram@bu.edu
Interests: Environmental Law, Occupational Health Law, Biotechnology Law and Ethics, Corporate Risk Management, Products Liability, Regulation of Hazardous Technologies, and Safety Management Systems.
 
Hugh W. Baxter
Professor of Law
Professor of Philosophy
E-mail: hbaxter@bu.edu
Interests: Social and legal theory, constitutional law, torts
Back to top
 
John A. Beccia, III
Lecturer in Law
General Counsel & Chief Compliance Officer
Circle Internet Financial, Inc.
E-mail: 
Interests: Banking Structure and Regulation
 
Jack M. Beermann
Harry Elwood Warren Scholar
Professor of Law
E-mail: beermann@bu.edu
Interests: Civil rights, administrative law, federal courts, government and interest groups, local government law
Back to top
 
Robert G. Bone
Robert Kent Professor in Civil Procedure
Professor of Law
E-mail: rbone@bu.edu
Interests: Civil procedure, intellectual property, economics, political theory, legal history
 
The Honorable Isaac Borenstein (Ret.)
Adjunct Professor of Law
E-mail: iab8@aol.com
Interests: N
Back to top
 
David Breen
Clinical Associate Professor of Law
E-mail: dbreen@bu.edu
Interests: Criminal law, trial advocacy, civil litigation
 
Khiara M. Bridges
Associate Professor of Law and Associate Professor of Anthropology
E-mail: kmb73@bu.edu
Interests: Critical race theory; criminal law; reproductive rights, equal protection, fundamental rights analysis under the due process clause
Back to top
 
Joseph F. Brodley
Professor Emeritus of Law
E-mail: brodley@bu.edu
Interests: Antitrust law, economic regulation
 
Constance A. Browne
Clinical Associate Professor of Law
E-mail: cbrowne@bu.edu
Interests: Trial advocacy, civil litigation, legal writing
Back to top
 
Robert G. Burdick
Director, Civil Litigation Program
Clinical Associate Professor of Law
E-mail: rburdick@bu.edu
Interests: Negotiation, civil law, ethical decision making
 
Daniela Caruso
Professor of Law
E-mail: danielac@bu.edu
Interests: Contracts, European Union Law, Disability Law, Autism and Society
Back to top
 
Kristin Collins
Peter Paul Career Development Professor
Professor of Law
E-mail: collinsk@bu.edu
Interests: Gender issues, federal courts, civil procedure, family law
 
Mary C. Connaughton
Clinical Associate Professor of Law
E-mail: mconnau@bu.edu
Interests: Evidence, trial advocacy, civil litigation
Back to top
 
Judith E. Diamond
Clinical Associate Professor of Law
E-mail: diamondj@bu.edu
Interests: Trial advocacy, family law, civil litigation
 
Stacey Dogan
Law Alumni Scholar
Professor of Law
E-mail: sdogan@bu.edu
Interests: intellectual property law; trademark law; copyright law
Back to top
 
Ward Farnsworth
Nancy E. Barton Scholar
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Professor of Law
E-mail: wf@bu.edu
Interests: Tort law; civil procedure; jurisprudence; rhetoric
 
Lilian V. Faulhaber
Associate Professor of Law
E-mail: lfaulhab@bu.edu
Interests: European Union law, federal taxation, international taxation, and tax policy
Back to top
 
Alan L. Feld
Maurice Poch Faculty Research Scholar
Professor of Law
E-mail: feldprof@bu.edu
Interests: Tax law, corporate law, law and the arts, nonprofit organizations
 
Stanley Z. Fisher
Professor of Law
E-mail: szf@bu.edu
Interests: Criminal law and procedure, the role of police and prosecutors, prosecutorial ethics, wrongful convictions
Back to top
 
James E. Fleming
The Honorable Frank R. Kenison Distinguished Scholar in Law
Associate Dean for Intellectual Life
Professor of Law
E-mail: jfleming@bu.edu
Interests: Constitutional law; constitutional theory; constitutional interpretation; political philosophy; law and philosophy; theories of democracy; torts; remedies
 
Tamar Frankel
Michaels Faculty Research Scholar
Professor of Law
E-mail: tfrankel@bu.edu
Interests: Financial system regulation, fiduciary law, corporate governance, the internet
Back to top
 
Leonard H. Glantz
Professor of Law
Professor of Health Law, Bioethics & Human Rights,
Boston University School of Public Health
Professor of Socio-Medical Sciences and Community Medicine,
Boston University School of Medicine
E-mail: lglantz@bu.edu
Interests: Health Law
 
Wendy J. Gordon
William Fairfield Warren Distinguished Professor
Professor of Law
E-mail: wgordon@bu.edu
Interests: Copyright; trademark; unfair competition; legal theory; property theory; restitution; torts; law & economics
Back to top
 
Michael C. Harper
Barreca Labor Relations Scholar
Professor of Law
E-mail: mconradh@bu.edu
Interests: Labor and employment law, administrative law, sports law
 
Neil S. Hecht
Director, Institute of Jewish Law
Professor of Law
E-mail: nshecht@bu.edu
Interests: Jewish law, evidence, property
Back to top
 
Keith N. Hylton
William Fairfield Warren Distinguished Professor
Professor of Law
E-mail: knhylton@bu.edu
Interests: Law and economics, litigation theory, antitrust, labor, corporate law
 
Maria O'Brien Hylton
Professor of Law
E-mail: mhylton@bu.edu
Interests: Labor law, employee benefits, law and economics
Back to top
 
Wendy Kaplan
Clinical Associate Professor of Law
E-mail: wjkaplan@bu.edu
Interests: Criminal law, juvenile justice
 
Sean J. Kealy
Clinical Associate Professor of Law
E-mail: skealy@bu.edu
Interests: Legislation and how the political system addresses various policy issues; federal and state constitutional law; criminal law and procedure
Back to top
 
Lois H. Knight
Director, Clinical and Trial Advocacy Programs
Clinical Professor of Law
E-mail: lknight@bu.edu
Interests: Trial advocacy, civil litigation, legal ethics
 
Susan P. Koniak
Professor of Law
E-mail: spkoniak@bu.edu
Interests: Law and the ethics of lawyering; constitutional law; civil procedure
Back to top
 
Andrew Kull
Austin B. Fletcher Professor of Law
Professor of Law
E-mail: akull@bu.edu
Interests: Contracts, restitution, commercial law property, constitutional law
 
Pnina Lahav
Law Alumni Scholar
Professor of Law
E-mail: plahav@bu.edu
Interests: Constitutional law, First Amendment jurisprudence, comparative law
Back to top
 
Gary S. Lawson
Philip S. Beck Professor of Law
Professor of Law
E-mail: glawson@bu.edu
Interests: Constitutional theory, administrative law, jurisprudence
 
Gerald F. Leonard
Law Alumni Scholar
Professor of Law
E-mail: gleonard@bu.edu
Interests: Criminal law, legislation, American legal history
Back to top
 
David B. Lyons
Law Alumni Scholar
Professor of Law
Professor of Philosophy, Boston University College and Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
E-mail: dbl@bu.edu
Interests: Moral, political and legal philosophy; theory of legal interpretation; history of race, ethnicity, and American law; theory and history of political resistance and responsibility
 
Tracey Maclin
Joseph Lipsitt Faculty Research Scholar
Professor of Law
E-mail: tmaclin@bu.edu
Interests: Criminal procedure, constitutional law, constitutional theory
Back to top
 
Wendy K. Mariner
Professor of Law
Edward R. Utley Professor of Health Law, Bioethics & Human Rights,
Boston University School of Public Health
Professor of Socio-Medical Sciences and Community Medicine,
Boston University School of Medicine
E-mail: wmariner@bu.edu
Interests: Health Law
 
Stephen G. Marks
Professor of Law
E-mail: smarks@bu.edu
Interests: Law and economics, corporate law, managerial economics
Back to top
 
Linda C. McClain
Paul M. Siskind Research Scholar
Professor of Law
E-mail: lmcclain@bu.edu
Interests: Interests: Family law and policy, gender and law, feminist legal theory, civil society, political philosophy, property,
 
Michael J. Meurer
Abraham and Lillian Benton Scholar
Professor of Law
E-mail: meurer@bu.edu
Interests: Intellectual Property, law and economics, regulation, antitrust
Back to top
 
Frances H. Miller

Professor of Law Emerita
E-mail: fmiller@bu.edu
Interests: Law and health care, biotechnology and genetics, competition vs. regulation in health care, trusts and estates
 
Walter W. Miller, Jr.
Professor of Law
E-mail: wmiller@bu.edu
Interests: Bankruptcy, contracts, Uniform Commercial Code, securities regulation
Back to top
 
Abigail R. Moncrieff
Peter Paul Career Development Professor
Associate Professor of Law
E-mail: arm11@bu.edu
Interests: Healthcare Law, Healthcare Law and Economics, Structural Constitutional Law, Legislation
 
Nancy J. Moore
Nancy E. Barton Scholar
Professor of Law
E-mail: nmoore@bu.edu
Interests: Law and ethics of lawyering, professional ethics, torts
Back to top
 
Dr. David Nersessian
Lecturer in Law
E-mail: dnersess@bu.edu
Interests: Legal Ethics and Professional Responsibility, Public and Private International Law, Human Rights and Corporate Social Responsibility
 
Eva S. Nilsen
Emerita Clinical Associate Professor of Law
E-mail: esnilsen@bu.edu
Interests: Criminal procedure, trial advocacy
Back to top
 
Maureen A. O'Rourke
Dean, Boston University School of Law
Michaels Faculty Research Scholar
Professor of Law
E-mail: morourke@bu.edu
Interests: Intellectual property law, commercial law
 
Kevin Outterson
Professor of Law
Professor of Health Law, Bioethics and Human Rights,
Boston University School of Public Health
E-mail: mko@bu.edu
Interests: Global pharmaceutical markets and health disparities
Back to top
 
William W. Park
R. Gordon Butler Scholar in International Law
Professor of Law
E-mail: wwpark@bu.edu
Interests: International business law, arbitration, finance, and tax; conflict of laws; interaction of law and religion
 
Daniel G. Partan
Professor of Law Emeritus
E-mail: partan@bu.edu
Interests: Global climate change, international lawmaking methodology, international trade law, international dispute resolution
Back to top
 
Mark Pettit, Jr.
Professor of Law
E-mail: mpettit@bu.edu
Interests: Contracts, evidence, consumer law
 
Karen Pita Loor
Clinical Associate Professor
E-mail: loork@bu.edu
Interests: criminal law, immigration law, trial advocacy
Back to top
 
David Rossman
Director, Criminal Law Clinical Programs
Professor of Law
E-mail: drossman@bu.edu
Interests: Criminal procedure, law and social science, criminal trial practice and professional responsibility
 
William E. Ryckman, Jr.
Professor Emeritus of Law
E-mail: 
Interests: Property law, land use, equity, federal court procedure
Back to top
 
Robert B. Seidman
Professor Emeritus of Law
E-mail: rseidman@bu.edu
Interests: Comparative law, law and development, legislative drafting, legislation, criminal law
 
David J. Seipp
Law Alumni Scholar
Professor of Law
E-mail: dseipp@bu.edu
Interests: Legal history, especially the influence of Roman and canon law on law in England and America
Back to top
 
Katharine B. Silbaugh
Law Alumni Scholar
Professor of Law
E-mail: silbaugh@bu.edu
Interests: Work-family conflict; family law; education law; employment law; household labor; school bullying; gender and the law
 
Kenneth W. Simons
The Honorable Frank R. Kenison Distinguished Scholar in Law
Professor of Law
E-mail: ksimons@bu.edu
Interests: Torts, criminal law, constitutional law, moral and political philosophy
Back to top
 
Theodore S. Sims
Professor of Law
E-mail: sims@bu.edu
Interests: Federal taxation; tax policy; public finance
 
Robert D. Sloane
R. Gordon Butler Scholar in International Law
Professor of Law
E-mail: rdsloane@bu.edu
Interests: public international law, the law of war, international legal theory and ethics, transnational criminal law, international investment law and arbitration, criminal law, international human rights law and policy
Back to top
 
Robert Volk
Director, Legal Writing and Appellate Advocacy Program
Associate Professor of Legal Writing
E-mail: rvolk@bu.edu
Interests: Legal writing, gay and lesbian legal rights
 
David I. Walker
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Maurice Poch Faculty Research Scholar
Professor of Law
E-mail: diwalker@bu.edu
Interests: Taxation, corporations; executive compensation, law and economics
Back to top
 
David H. Webber
Associate Professor of Law
E-mail: dhwebber@bu.edu
Interests: Securities litigation, securities regulation, shareholder activism, law and finance, empirical legal studies, civil procedure
 
Jay D. Wexler
Professor of Law
E-mail: jaywex@bu.edu
Interests: Law and religion, administrative law, constitutional law, environmental law
Back to top
 
Larry Yackle
Basil Yanakakis Faculty Research Scholar
Professor of Law
E-mail: yackle@bu.edu
Interests: Access to the federal courts in civil liberties cases
 
Nadia Yassa
Lecturer in Law
Director of Estate and Gift Planning, The Boston Foundation
E-mail: 
Interests: planned giving, trusts and estates, probate, estate administration, complex assets and private foundation operations
Back to top