Presenting works-in-process in a colloquial setting.

BU Law Faculty Workshops are generally held on a weekly basis during the academic year (Fall through Spring semesters). Faculty members from BU Law and from other universities are invited to present scholarly work-in-progress (usually accompanied by a pre-distributed draft of a paper) in a colloquial setting. These workshops, typically very well-attended, start with a light lunch and proceed to a full hour of presentation and discussion of the specific paper. The tradition at these workshops allocates twenty minutes to the presenter and forty minutes to questions, comments, and suggestions by various faculty members. Once a year, an outstanding scholar of national reputation is invited to give a public lecture at BU Law. The lecture is open to faculty, students, and the University community. The lecture presented by the distinguished speaker is thereafter published in the Boston University Law Review.

Unless otherwise noted, Faculty Workshops will be held in the Faculty Lounge on the 15th floor of the law tower.

Fall 2018 Schedule

Sept. 20: Jack Beermann

Sept. 27: Distinguished Interdisciplinary Visitor Vivien Schmidt (Professor of International Relations in the Frederick S. Pardee School of Global Studies and Professor of Political Science at Boston University, as well as Founding Director of BU’s Center for the Study of Europe)

Oct. 4:  Anna di Robilant

Oct. 18: Douglas NeJaime, Yale Law School

Oct. 25: Gary Lawson

Nov. 8: Linda McClain

Nov. 15: Julian Mortenson, University of Michigan Law School

Nov. 29: Jim Wheaton

Dec. 6: Gustavo Ribeiro

Fall 2017 Schedule

Sept. 7: Tamar Frankel

Sept. 14: Jack Beermann

Sept. 28:  Chantal Thomas, William & Patricia Kleh Visiting Professor in International Law

Oct. 5:  Jim Fleming

Oct. 10: Daphne Hacker, Tel Aviv University (presentation about her new book; organized by Pnina Lahav for interested faculty)

Oct. 12: Mark Wu, Harvard Law School

Oct. 19: Wendy Gordon

Oct. 26: Bennet Capers, Brooklyn Law School (Visiting Professor at BU Law)

Nov. 9: David Seipp

Nov. 30: Shalanda Baker, Northeastern University

Dec. 4: Paul Butler (Georgetown, visiting HLS)

Dec. 7: Gerry Leonard

Spring 2018 Schedule

Jan. 18: Jeanne Fromer, NYU School of Law

Jan. 22:  Mike Harper

Jan. 25: Rebecca Ingber

Feb. 1: Rory Van Loo

Feb. 8: Annual BU Distinguished Interdisciplinary Visitor, David Weil, Dean, Heller School of Public Policy, Brandeis (formerly at Questrom School of Business, BU)

Feb. 12: Linda McClain

Feb. 15: Florencia Marotta-Wurgler, NYU School of Law

Feb. 20:Sendhil Mullainathan, Department of Economics, Harvard (paper presentation; organized by Kathy Zeiler for interested faculty)

Feb. 22: Annual Distinguished Lecture, Professor Carol Sanger, Columbia University

March 1: Mike Meurer

March 15: Jared Ellias, UC Hastings (Visiting Professor, BU Law)

March 22: Paul Gugliuzza

March 29: Ahmed Ghappour

April 5: Kathy Zeiler

April 12: Anna di Robilant

April 19: Rick Garnett, University of Notre Dame, Law School