Institute for the Study of Conflict, Ideology and Policy


• • • • •

The ISCIP Analyst


Behind the Breaking News


Publication Series

• • • • •


Lecture Series


• • • • •

Search The ISCIP Analyst (formerly the NIS Observed):

Volume III, No 3 (January-February 1993)

Send us a note to subscribe to Perspective.


From the Database

Some groups (fraktsii) have fewer than 50 members, although according to the official Parliamentary Rules (Reglament) 50 is the minimum number of deputies for constituting a parliamentary group. The list also includes several professional groups that do not possess official fraktsia status. The list is divided into two columns: the first column focuses on the group's name, membership, and leadership (i.e., members of an elected coordinating council or other official steering body); the second column provides a description of its political orientation and agenda.


Name and Membership Political Orientation and Agenda
Democratic Russia (Demokraticheskaya Rossiya--DemRossiya); 67 members; L.A. Ponomarev, Yu. S. Sergeyev, S.P. Shustov, V.V. Volkov. The principal democratic constitutional group supporting Yel'tsin government. Opposed to concessions to more nationalistic policies and subsidization of state industry (as advocated by Civic Union).
Radical Democrats (Radikal'nye demokraty); 41 members; V.A. Denisenko, M. Ye. Sal'ye, A. Ye.Shabad, V.K. Varov, S.N. Yushenko, G.I. Zadonsky. Liberal democratic group advocating strong constitutional rights and liberalization of economy. With DemRossiya, component of "Democratic Choice" (Demvybor) bloc.
"Cooperation" Group (Gruppa "Sotrudnichestvo"); 53 members; no officially elected leadership. Reformist, progovernment group, generally supports Demvybor.
Left Center (Levy tsentr); 52 members; S.V. Stepashin, D.A. Volkogonov.
Social democratic group: advocates democratic reforms of political system combined with degree of state regulation of economy.
Non-Party Deputies(Bespartiinye deputaty); 39 members; B.N. Formozov, V.O. Ispravnikov, V.I. Novikov, Yu.A. Yudin. Reformist democratic group: less committed to liberalization of the economy than DemRossiya.
Free Russia(Svobodnaya Rossiya); 58 members; V.M. Adrov, I.V. Vinogradova. Proreform group advocates less rapid privatization of economy than DemRossiya, and preservation of "social guarantees" (despite inflationary impact)
Sovereignty and Equality (Suverenitet i ravenstvo); 50 members; U.Ye. Temirov.
Supports giving full national autonomy to RF republics while maintaining the territorial integrity of the Russian Federation.
New Shift (New Policy) (Smena--Novaya politika); 40 members; A.Ye. Golovin, P.Kh. Lysov, I.N. Mozgo, I.V. Murav'yov, V.A. Shuykov.
Advocates continued state support and regulation of industry. Component of Civic Union bloc; wants changes in government to lessen drive for liberalization of the economy.
Industrial Union(Promyshlenny soyuz); 71 members; V.V. Bespalov, Yu.G. Gekht.
Represents interests of managers of state industries, advocates governmental financial support of heavy industry. Component of Civic Union bloc.
Workers Union of Russia(Rabochi soyuz Rossii); 41 members; S.N. Andropov, V.V. Chernov, A.Ye.Kosonkin. Represents workers' interests in combating accelerated privatization, opposes breakup of state-run industry. Component of Civic Union bloc.
FNPR Group (Federation Independent Trade Union Workers)(Gruppa FNPR--Federatsiya nezavisi-mykh profsoyuznykh rabotniov); 95 members; K.M.Doyev. Proworkers trade union group opposed to radical privatization, supports state supervision of industry and maintenance of "social guarantees."
Health Workers' Group (Gruppa meditskinskikh rabotnikov); 52 members; no officially elected leaders. Professional group advocating government support of "state sector" and health care.
Civic Society(Grazhdanskoe obshchestvo); 50 members; M.B. Chelnokov (unofficial leader). Neosocialist group opposed to Yel'tsin government. Component of Russian Unity bloc.
Agrarian Union (Agrarny soyuz); 148 members; M.I. Lapshin, A.G. Nazarchuk, V.S. Nikiforov, A.A. Ponomarev, V.S. Zakharov. Neocommunist group, component of opposition Russian Unity bloc. Aims to preserve socialist agriculture, collective farms.
Russia(Rossiya); 46 members; S.N. Baburin, N.A.Pavlov, V.A. Serdyukov. Nationalistic, neocommunist group; advocates state supervision of heavy industry. Component of Russian Unity opposition bloc.
Fatherland (Otchizna); 52 members; A.F. Bazarov. Russian "national-patriot" group opposed to government's pro-Western foreign policy and to its reformist economic policy. Component of Russian Unity bloc.
Communists of Russia (Kommunisty Rossii) 55 members; I.M. Bratishchev, V.V. Kalashnikkov, B.G. Kibirev, N.I. Mal'kov, I.P. Rybkin, G.V. Sayenko, A.S. Sokolov. Neocommunist group advocating retention of socialist economy. Component of Russian Unity bloc.

1 Data supplied by Supreme Soviet Deputy Lev A. Ponomarev, leader of DemRossiya. Descriptions of political orientation and agenda added by Perspective.

Unless otherwise indicated, all articles appearing in this journal have been commissioned especially for

Copyright ISCIP 1993

 About Us Staff Contact Home Boston University