IOC Faculty Advisory Board

The Initiative on Cities is proud to present the 2016 – 2017 Faculty Advisory Board, a team of experts representing the diverse range of study at Boston University. Board Members will help guide the IOC as we pursue our mission of advancing urban leadership and connecting the academic world with the practice of city governance.


Jack Beermann – Professor, School of Law

Azer Bestavros (Ex Officio) – Professor, Computer Science Department and Director of the Hariri Institute for Computing

Daniel Bluestone – Professor, History of Art and Architecture Department and Director of the Preservation Studies Program

Japonica Brown-Saracino — Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Arts and Sciences


Paul Carlile – Associate Professor and Chair, Information Systems, Questrom School of Business

Christos Cassandras – Professor and Head of the Division of Systems Engineering, School of Engineering

Hardin Coleman – Dean, School of Education

Harold Cox – Associate Dean and Associate Professor, Department of Community Health Sciences, School of Public Health

Madhu Dutta-Koehler – Associate Professor of Practice and Program Coordinator for City Planning and Urban Affairs, Metropolitan College

Katherine Levine Einstein – Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science, College of Arts and Sciences

Peter Fox- Penner – Director, Institute for Sustainable Energy and Professor of Practice, Questrom School of Business

Anthony Janetos (Ex Officio) – Professor, Department of Earth and Environment, College of Arts and Sciences, and Director of the Frederick Pardee Center for the Study of the Longer-Range Future

Robert Margo – Professor, Department of Economics, College of Arts and Sciences

Ruth Paris – Associate Professor of Clinical Practice and Director of the Family Therapy Certificate Program, School of Social Work

Nathan Phillips – Professor, Department of Earth and Environment, College of Arts and Sciences

Min Ye – Associate Professor, Frederick Pardee School of Global Studies and Academic Coordinator of the Asian Studies Program


The IOC is grateful for the support of Boston University faculty in growing and achieving our mission. Past members of our Board include:

  • Astraea Augsberger – Assistant Professor, School of Social Work
  • David Glick – Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science, College Arts and Sciences
  • Wendy Heiger-Bernays – Associate Professor, Department of Environmental Health, School of Public Health
  • Thomas Little – Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Associate Dean of Educational Initiatives and Director of the NSF Smart Lighting Engineering Research Center