Faculty Affiliates

The Initiative has launched a Faculty Affiliate Program open to all BU faculty members, including tenured/tenure-track faculty, non-tenured faculty, and lecturers.

Faculty Affiliates represent a broad range of schools, departments, programs, and centers from across BU and support or engage with the work of the Initiative, from urban research and policy development to community partnerships and education related activities.

Affiliates can take advantage of a range of benefits, including:

  • Free access to the Initiative on Cities seminar room at 75 Bay State road for workshops, roundtables or guest lectures
  • Staff support convening and hosting small events such as academic workshops, book talks or speaker series
  • Promotion of research via our social media channels and mailing list, including recent academic publications, books, articles or working papers relevant to urban issues
  • Assistance with grant proposals, including Letters of Support, general advice, and input on broader impacts. Affiliates may also include operational support provided by the Initiative on Cities team in grant proposals, on an as needed basis
  • Guidance on seeking media coverage for your work
  • Relationship support engaging with cities in our region, whether for research or courses

Faculty must apply to be an Affiliate (using a short interest form) and will be asked to renew their affiliation with the IOC every odd year.

Current Faculty Affiliates:

  • Astraea Augsberger, Assistant Professor (School of Social Work)
  • Azer Bestavros, Faculty Advisory Board Member; Associate Provost for Computing & Data Sciences; Warren Distinguished Professor (Computer Science, College of Arts & Sciences)
  • Paul Carlile, Faculty Advisory Board Member; Senior Associate Dean of Curriculum and Innovation; Associate Professor Information Systems (Questrom School of Business)
  • Dino Christenson, Associate Professor (Political Science, College of Arts & Sciences)
  • Louis Chude-Sokei, Faculty Advisory Board Member; George and Joyce Wein Chair in African American Studies; Director of the African American Studies Program; Professor of English (African American Studies, College of Arts & Sciences)
  • Mary Collins, Profesor & Department Chair (Social Welfare Policy, School of Social Work)
  • Stephanie Curenton, Faculty Advisory Board Member; Associate Professor and Director of the Ecology of School Readiness Lab (Wheelock College of Education & Human Development)
  • Justin de Benedictis-Kessner, Assistant Professor (Political Science, College of Arts & Sciences)
  • Madhu Dutta-KoehlerFaculty Advisory Board Member; Associate Professor of Practice and Director (City Planning and Urban Affairs, Metropolitan College)
  • Martin Fiszbein, Faculty Advisory Board Member; Assistant Professor (Economics, College of Arts & Sciences)
  • Peter Fox-Penner, Faculty Advisory Board Member; Director, Institute for Sustainable Energy; Professor of Practice (Questrom School of Business)
  • Judith Gonyea, Faculty Advisory Board Member; Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Professor (School of Social Work)
  • Max Greenberg, Lecturer (Sociology, College of Arts & Sciences)
  • Jonathan Jay, Assistant Professor (Community Health Sciences, School of Public Health)
  • Jonathan Levy, Faculty Advisory Board Member; Professor and Co-Director of Center for Research on Environmental and Social Stressors in Housing Across the Life Course (CRESSH) (School of Public Health)
  • Dan Li, Assistant Professor (Earth & Environment, College of Arts & Sciences)
  • Noora Lori, Faculty Advisory Board Member; Assistant Professor (Frederick S. Pardee School of Global Studies & College of Arts & Sciences)
  • Karen Pita Loor, Faculty Advisory Board Member; Clinical Associate Professor of Law (School of Law)
  • Lucy Marcil, Assistant Professor (Pediatrics, School of Medicine)
  • Daniel Miller, Associate Professor (School of Social Work)
  • Yuhei Miyauchi, Assistant Professor (Economics, College of Arts & Sciences)
  • James O’Connell, Adjunct Professor (City Planning & Urban Affairs, Metropolitan College)
  • Yannis Paschalidis, Faculty Advisory Board Member; Professor (ECE, BME, SE) and Director of the Center for Information and Systems Engineering (College of Engineering)
  • Spencer Piston, Assistant Professor (Political Science, College of Arts & Sciences)
  • Terrance Regan, Lecturer (City Planning & Urban Affairs, Metropolitan College)
  • Randi Rotjan, Research Assistant Professor (Biology, College of Arts & Sciences)
  • Jessica Simes, Faculty Advisory Board Member; Assistant Professor (Sociology, College of Arts and Sciences)
  • Kathleen Vandenberg, Senior Lecturer (Rhetoric, College of General Studies)