The James Pappoutsakis 33rd Annual Flute Competition Final Round

7:00 pm on Sunday, January 27, 2013
Boston Conservatory, Room T-401 31 Hemenway Street, Boston, MA 02215
Free and open to the public Two Boston University School of Music students are among the four finalists at the 33rd annual James Pappoutsakis Flute Competition Final Round on Sunday, January 27, 2013 at 7:00 PM at Boston Conservatory, Room T-401, 31 Hemenway Street, Boston, MA (free and open to the public). This event offers the audience an opportunity to hear performances by extraordinary young artists who are studying at major Boston conservatories in preparation for concert careers. This season's finalists are: Alex Conway (Boston University, student of Linda Toote), Min Kyung Kim (New England Conservatory of Music, student of Renee Krimsier), Alicia Mielke (New England Conservatory of Music, student of Paula Robison), and Thomas James Wible (Boston University, student of Geralyn Coticone). Each finalist will perform music by Jean-Marie LeClair and Pierre Max Dubois, and Dialogue by Peter Child, commissioned for this contest. The Pappoutsakis Prize, first presented in 1980, was established in 1979 in memory of James Pappoutsakis, flutist with the Boston Symphony Orchestra for nearly four decades and beloved teacher of generations of fine musicians now performing throughout the world. Finalists who have advanced through the (blind) preliminary round have been chosen from among students at The New England Conservatory, Boston University, The Boston Conservatory, The Longy School of Music and The Berklee College of Music. The First Prize winner will receive a cash award of $2,000 (US), a handmade silver head joint from Jonathon Landell (former student of James Pappoutsakis), a flute maintenance package from FluteFX, and a gift certificate from Music Espresso (a source for scores and sheet music). The Winner will also be presented in a solo recital, free and open to the public, at a later date. The William H. Grass Memorial Prize (for second place) will be a cash award of $1,000 (US) and a gift certificate from Yesterday Service (a source for scores and sheet music). Other finalists will receive a gift certificate from Noteworthy Sheet Music (an online publisher of unusual music). The Competition is supported in part by: Brannen Brothers Flutes, Burkart Flutes, Flutacious, Flute FX, Galdieri Flute Repair, William S. Haynes Flutes, Keefe Piccolo Company, Landell Flutes, Levit Flute Co., Mancke Flutes, Music Espresso, Nagahara Flutes, Noteworthy Sheet Music, Powell Flutes, Suffolk Dentistry, Williams Flutes, Yesterday Service, and Your Flute Works.