More than one hundred friends, students, alumni, and faculty gathered to honor Professor Patricia Hills at a symposium held at the George Sherman Union on April 26, 2014. Entitled “American Visual Culture in Context: A Symposium in Honor of Professor Patricia Hills,” this event featured academic papers by prominent scholars from across the country who were Hills’ former students. Sponsored by the Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences, alumni and current students, the Boston University Center for the Humanities, the Department of the History of Art & Architecture, the American & New England Studies Program, and the African American Studies Program, the symposium celebrated the career of Professor Hills, a specialist in American art who has taught at Boston University since 1978. Dr. Hills is retiring at the end of this academic year.

Events

All Topics (September 27 through October 15)

Friday, September 27

Monday, September 30

Wednesday, October 2

Thursday, October 3

Friday, October 4

Monday, October 7

Tuesday, October 8

Wednesday, October 9

Thursday, October 10

Friday, October 11

Saturday, October 12

Tuesday, October 15