2016/2017 Executive Committee: Susan Mizruchi (Director), Peter Schwartz, Arianne Chernock, James Uden, Kim Sichel, Christopher Maurer, Deeana Klepper, and Walter Hopp. (Absent: Deborah Burton and James Siemon)


are a sort of hawking and hunting, wherein the very pursuit makes a great part of the pleasure. Every step the mind takes in its progress towards Knowledge makes some discovery, which is not only new, but the best too, for the time at least.

—John Locke, An Essay Concerning Human Understanding

BUCH Executive Committee

Executive Committee Members 2016/2017

The Boston University Center for the Humanities is governed by an Executive Committee of distinguished scholars in the humanities, appointed by Ann E. Cudd, Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences. The following is a list of committee members for the current academic year, with links to their departmental homepages.

revised 9/26/16