Policies on Conflicts of Interest in Research

I.    Boston University’s Policy on Investigator’s Conflicts of Interest


Boston University seeks to ensure the integrity of academic research conducted by its faculty members and students and to sustain public confidence in that research.

Since October 1, 1995, two federal agencies, the National Science Foundation and the Public Health Service, have required every institution that applies for research funding to maintain a policy designed to promote research objectivity through the management, reduction or elimination of investigator conflicts of interest. Boston University and Boston Medical Center adopted procedures which meets and exceeds these federal regulations with respect to all research.


This policy applies to all persons responsible for designing, conducting or reporting research under the auspices of BU. This includes principal investigators and co-investigators, and may include others such as graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, technicians, consultants, and collaborators if they have such responsibilities.

II.  Boston University’s Institutional Conflict of Interest in Research Policy


The purpose of this policy is to safeguard the objectivity, integrity and credibility of research conducted by Boston University’s faculty, staff, and students by ensuring that the financial interests of the University or key employees of the University have no effect on the design, conduct or oversight of research. This policy defines the potential financial conflicts on the part of the University and key individuals, and how to identify, eliminate or manage those conflicts.


This policy applies to Boston University as an institution and to the financial interests held in the name of the University and over which the University has direct control.

It also applies to the financial interests of key individuals who, because of their positions, have influence over what research is or is not conducted and whose responsibilities include review or oversight of research. These individuals include the University president; provosts (including associate and assistant provosts); vice presidents (including assistant and associate vice presidents; deans (including associate and vice deans); department chairpersons; division chiefs; center and institute directors; chairpersons of the Institutional Review Board, Institutional Biosafety Committee, Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee, Stem Cell Research Committee, and Patent Committees; and technology transfer officers.

More Information