EXPERTS ON THE MIDDLE EAST
[Iran and Afghanistan included]
THE CENTER FOR WAR, PEACE & THE NEWS MEDIA AT NEW YORK UNIVERSITY

 

 

 


New York University

 

 

 
 
Ervand Abrahamian (Iran)
History Department
Baruch College, Box B5/200
1 Bernard Baruch Way
New York, NY 10010
Phone: (646) 312-4327
Fax: (646) 312-4311
Email: Ervand_Abrahamian@baruch.cuny.edu
 
Lahouari Addi
Expert on Algeria,
University of Lyon
laddi@University-lyon2.fr
 
Amatzia Baram
Professor
University of Haifa
50 Pinsker St.
Neve Shanan
Haifa, Israel 32715
Phone: 972-4-8225566
Email: Baram@research.haifa.ac.il
Area of Expertise: Iraq, Bath
Party, Syrian politics, modern
history of the Middle East
 

Phyllis Bennis (Iraq)
Fellow, New Internationalism: The Middle East & United Nations Affairs
Institute for Policy Studies
733 15th St NW, Suite 1020
Washington DC, 20005
Telephone: (202) 234-9382
Fax: (202) 387-7915
Area of Expertise: Sanctions, U.S. foreign policy, United Nations

 
 
Patrick Clawson
Director of Research
Washington Institute for Near East Policy
1828 L Street, N.W., Suite 1050
Washington, D.C. 20036
Phone: 202-452-0650
Fax: 202-223-5364
patrickc@washingtoninstitute.org
Area of Expertise: Economics, sanctions policy, Persian Gulf, Iran, Iraq

Juan Cole (Iraq & Iran)
University of Michigan
2527 Haven Hall
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
Phone: 734-763-1599
Fax: 734-647-4881
E-mail: jrcole@umich.edu
Area of Expertise: politics, culture and history of Shi'ite and Sunni Islam

 
Anthony H. Cordesman
Senior Fellow and Codirector
Middle East Studies at the Center for Strategic and International Studies
Center for Strategic and International Studies
1800 K Street NW
Washington, DC 20006
Phone: 202-775-3270
email: acordesman@aol.com
Fax: 202-466-4740
Expertise: balance of military power, war, Peace Process
 
Steven Emerson
Director
The Investigative Project
3930 Connecticut Avenue, N.W. Suite 202
Washington, D.C. 20008
Phone: 202-363-1911
Fax: 202-966-5191
Area of Expertise: Islamic extremism and counter-terrorism
 
Edmund Ghareeb
Adjunct Professor
American University
5704 Cromwell Drive
Bethesda, MD 20816
Phone: 202-955-6233
or 301-229-5704
Fax: 301-229-5703
Email: esun@hotmail.com
Area of Expertise: Iraq, sanctions

Heba Handoussa (Egypt)
Managing Director, Economic Research Forum For The Arab Countries, Iran & Turkey
7 Boulos Hanna Street
Dokki, Cairo
Egypt
Telephone: 202-337-0810
Fax: 202-761-6042
Email: hhandoussa@erf.org.eg
Area of Expertise: Economics

William D. Hartung (Arms Trade)
Director, The Arms Trade Resource Center
New School University
66 Fifth Avenue, 9th fl.
New York, NY 10011
Telephone: 212-229-5808
Fax: 212.229.5579
Email: hartung@newschool.edu
Webpage: http://www.worldpolicy.org/projects/arms/
Area of Expertise: U.S. weapons trade and U.S. arms sales policy

Pervez Hoodbuoy (Afghanistan)
Professor
Department of Physics
Quaid-i-Azam University
Islamabad 45320
Pakistan
Telephone: 282-9472

Nikki Keddie (Iran)
UCLA Department of History
6265 Bunche Hall, Box 951473
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1473
Phone: 310-825-4601
Email: keddie@history.ucla.edu
Area of Expertise:
 
 
 
Judith Kipper
Co-director of Middle Eastern Studies
Center for Strategic and International Studies
1800 K Street NW
Washington, DC 20006
Phone: 202-775-3213
Fax: 202-466-4740
Email: kipperj@acsis.org
Area of Expertise: Arab-Israeli relations, Peace process, West Bank and Gaza, Palestinian development, US-Arab relations

Azzedine Layachi (Algeria)
Department of Government and Politics
St. John’s University
300 Howard Avenue
Staten Island, NY10301
Phone: 718-390-4585
Fax: 718-390-4347
E-mail: layachia@stjohns.edu

 
Ambassador David Mack
Vice President
Middle East Institute
1761 N Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036-289F
Phone: 202-785-1141 Ext. 226
Fax: 202-331-8861
Email: vp@mideasti.org
Area of Expertise: Gulf security, Iraq, North Africa, Political Islam

 

 

PLEASE E-MAIL CORRECTIONS
AND SUGGESTED ADDITIONS
TO WILLIAM T. DOWELL
AT wtd2@nyu.edu

 

 

 
Hisham Melhem
Bureau Chief
As-Safir Newspaper (Beruit)
Radio Montecarlo (Paris)
5272 Dunleigh Drive
Burke, VA 22015
Phone: 703-425-6017 (home)
Fax: 703-425-3879 (home)
Email: mhisham@aol.com
Area of Expertise: Arab-Israeli relations, Lebanon-Syria
relations, Jordan, Persian Gulf, Iraq, Iran, political Islam.

Tim Mitchell (Egypt)
Departments of Politics and Near Eastern Studies at New York University
tim.mitchell@nyu.edu

 
Ambassador Richard Murphy
Senior Fellow for the Middle East
Council on Foreign Relations
58 East 68th Street
New York, NY 10021
Phone: 212-434-9626
Fax: 212-535-0527
Email: rmurphy@cfr.org
Area of Expertise: all Middle East
 
Thomas Neumann
Executive Director
Jewish Insitute for National Security Affairs (JINSA)
1717 K Street, NW, Suite 800
Washington, DC 20006
Phone: 202-833-0020
Fax: 202-296-6452
Email: info@jinsa.org, jinsa2@aol.com
Area of Expertise: US Middle East security, Israel security, ballistic missile defense
 
Dr. Andrew Parasiliti
Director of Programs
Middle East Institute
1761 N Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036-289F
Phone: 202-785-1141
Fax: 202-331-8861
Email: programs@mideasti.org
Area of Expertise: Iraq
 
James Phillips
Middle East Analyst
Heritage Foundation
214 Massachusetts Ave. NE
Washington, DC 20002
Phone: 202-546-4400
Area of Expertise: Persian Gulf, Iran, Afganistan
 
Daniel Pipes
Director of the Middle East Forum
1500 Walnut Street, Suite 1050
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19102
Tel.: 215-546-5406, ext. 15
Fax: 815-425-2139
Mobile: 215-681-4848
Email: meqmef@aol.com
Area of Expertise: Syria, Islam, cultural issues, the
Arab-Israeli conflict, terrorism, US policy

 
Gail Pressberg
Policy Analyst
Americans for Peace
35 Crescent St. Apt 509
Waltham, MA 02453
Phone: 617- 928-3408
Fax: 617-969-9585
Email: Gpressberg@AOL.com
Area of Expertise: Arab-Israel relations, US policy
 

Olivier Roy (Afghanistan)
Research Director, Humanities & Social Sciences
Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique
3 rue Michel - Ange
F - 75794 Paris cedex 16
Telephone: + 33 1 44964000
Fax: + 33 1 44965000

Barnett R. Rubin (Afghanistan)
Director of Studies
Center on International Cooperation
418 Lafayette St., #543
New York, NY 10003
Telephone: 212-998-3680
Fax: 212-995-4706
Email: barnett.rubin@nyu.edu
Webpage: http://www.nyu.edu/pages/cic/index2.html

Gary Sick (Gulf States)
Executive Director, The Gulf/2000 Project
School of International and Public Affairs
Columbia University
420 West 118th Street
New York, NY 10027
Phone: 212-854-2124
Fax: 212-864-4847
Email: ggs2@columbia.edu
Webpage: http://sipa.columbia.edu/GULF2000/index.html
Area of Expertise: the Persian Gulf region--Bahrain, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates

 
Farid Senzai
Researcher
Brookings Institution
Phone: 202-797-6168
Fax: 202-797-6003
Email: fsenzai@brook.edu
Area of Expertise: Political Islam, US policy, Iran, Afganistan

Peter Slugnett (Iraq)
University of Utah
Department of History
380 S 1400 E RM 211
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0311
Phone: 801-581-6121
Fax: 801-585-0580
Email: sluglett@aol.com

Joe Stork (Iraq)
Human Rights Watch
Middle East and North Africa Division, Advocacy Director
1630 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 500
Washington, DC 20009 USA
Tel: 202-612-4321
Fax: 202-612-4333
Email: hrwdc@hrw.org
Area of Expertise:

Robert Vitalis (Gulf States)
University of Pennsylvania
229 Stiteler Hall
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6215
Phone: 215-898-6497
Fax: 215-573-2073
Email: rvitalis@sas.upenn.edu
Area of Expertise: Saudi Arabia, World Oil Industry, American Foreign Policy

Dr. Cyril Widdershoven
Mediterranean Energy Political Risk Consultancy (MEPRC)
Global Energy Security Analysis (GESA), http://www.gasandoil.com/gesa
Bunderstraat 22
1445 Ed Purmerend
The Netherlands
Tel: 0031-6-14411786
The Netherlands

 
Judith Yaphe
Senior Fellow
Institute for National Strategic Studies
National Defence University
Fort McNair
Washington, DC 20319
Phone: 202-685-2224
Fax: 202-685-3866
Email: yaphej@ndu.edu
Area of Expertise: Iraq, Persian Gulf, Islamic radicalism
 
Dov Zakheim
Consultant
Secretary of Defense
CEO, System Planning Corporation International
1000 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 3133
Arlington, VA 22209-2211
Phone: 703-351-8694
Fax:703-351-8567
Email: dzakheim@sysplan.com
Area of Expertise: Politics in Israel and US Israel policy