Wine Level 4: The Wine Trade - Global, National, and Local Perspectives

Description

Level 4 offers an in-depth understanding of the global wine industry and develops students' ability to communicate that understanding. Course work includes readings spanning issues of historic and cultural importance, class discussions and student assignments and in-class presentations. Blind tastings of wines and sensorial analyses will be practiced throughout the course. There are 14 3-hour classes plus a final exam covering essay writing and tasting analysis. Prerequisite: a passing grade in Level 3.

BOOKS: The Sotheby's Wine Encyclopedia. Tom Stevenson (DK Adult). The Oxford Companion to Wine. Jancis Robinson. (Oxford UP 3rd ed., 2006). Textbooks are not included but may be purchased at that the bookseller of your choice or at Boston University's Barnes and Noble (617-267-8484 - students should call for availability).

GLASSES: Please bring 6 tasting glasses to class. Glasses are available for purchase for $20 on thefirst day of class. Students may pay cash or check to your instructor.

Cost

  • General Public: $2200.00

Instructor

  • Bill Nesto (Presenter)
    One of only two Masters of Wine residing in New England.
    (More Information?)

Meetings

Meets at Boston University: 808 Commonwealth Ave., Demonstration Room, Room 117 at 6:00 pm (14 meetings)

  • Thursday, September 06, 2012
  • Thursday, September 13, 2012
  • Thursday, September 20, 2012
  • Thursday, September 27, 2012
  • Thursday, October 04, 2012
  • Thursday, October 11, 2012
  • Thursday, October 18, 2012
  • Thursday, October 25, 2012
  • Thursday, November 01, 2012
  • Thursday, November 08, 2012
  • Thursday, November 15, 2012
  • Thursday, November 29, 2012
  • Thursday, December 06, 2012
  • Thursday, December 13, 2012