Wine Level 1: Fundamentals of Wine - An Introduction

Description

This survey course provides a foundation of essential knowledge for consumers and professionals. Topics covered include: tasting wine, grape varieties, basic vinticulture and viticulture, and the world's most important wine producing regions. Level 1 is the place to start for beginners and those wishing to solidify a foundation in wine studies and to practice wine tasting. This is not a prerequisite for Level 2, but does prepare students for it.

BOOKS: The World Atlas of Wine. Hugh Johnson and Jancis Robinson. Hamlyn: 6th. Ed. Textbook is not included but may be purchased at Boston University's Barnes and Noble or through the online retailer of your choice. Note: It is best to call to check availability in advance. GLASSES: Please bring 6 tasting glasses to class. Glasses are available for purchase for $20 on the first day of class. You may pay cash or check to your instructor.

Cost

  • General Public: $1000.00

Instructor

  • Bill Nesto (Presenter)
    One of only two Masters of Wine residing in New England.
    (More Information?)

Meetings

Meets at Boston University: 808 Commonwealth Ave., Demonstration Room, Room 117 at 6:00 pm (10 meetings)

  • Monday, September 12, 2011
  • Monday, September 19, 2011
  • Monday, September 26, 2011
  • Monday, October 03, 2011
  • Monday, October 17, 2011
  • Monday, October 24, 2011
  • Monday, October 31, 2011
  • Monday, November 07, 2011
  • Monday, November 14, 2011
  • Monday, November 21, 2011