Principal Investigator

James_Bird James Bird, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Harvard University
Office: EMA 220
730 Commonwealth Avenue
Boston University, Boston, MA 02215
phone: (617) 358-6929
email: jbird [at] bu.edu


Current Members

Postdoctoral Researchers
frederik Frederik Brasz
cfbrasz [at] bu.edu
Graduate Students
lena Lena Dubitsky
lod224 [at] bu.edu
oliver Oliver McRae
oliverm [at] bu.edu
porous media flows, microfluidics, biological fluid dynamics
mark Mark Menesses
menesses [at] bu.edu
Bubble effects on biofouling, dewetting dynamics, thermocapillary phenomena
alexandros Alexandros Oratis
aoratis [at] bu.edu
Fluid-solid interactions, wave phenomena
samira Samira Shiri
sshiri [at] bu.edu
Complex fluids, heat transfer, drop-surface interactions, non-Newtonian fluids
cheyanne Cheyanne Xie
yingxie [at] bu.edu
Undergraduate Students
dianne Dianne Kim
dayoungk [at] bu.edu
Alex Alex Moreno
asmoreno [at] bu.edu
armela Armela Murrizi
amurrizi [at] bu.edu
Henry Henry Varona
ejvarona [at] bu.edu

Past Members

Graduate Students
Casey Bartlett
Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering (2015)
caseytb [at] bu.edu
Mustafa Ordu
Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering (2017)
ordu [at] bu.edu
Colin Patterson
M.S. Mechanical Engineering (2015)
colinj.patterson [at] gmail.com
Peter Walls
Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering (2017)
pllw [at] bu.edu
Undergraduates
Charles Boyce boycec [at] bu.edu
Christian Bragdon cbragdon [at] bu.edu
Timothy Farmer tfarmer [at] bu.edu
Elena Flynn eflynn31 [at] bu.edu
Daniel Poe danpoe [at] bu.edu
Torben Umeda tumeda [at] bu.edu
Katie Williams ktrose33 [at] bu.edu
Yingxian Yu estella0 [at] bu.edu
Madeline Zhang mzzhang [at] bu.edu
Visitors
Alexis Berny alexis.berny [at] ens-cachan.fr
Gregoire Dequidt gregoire.dequidt [at] gmail.com
Antoine Gaillard antoine.gaillarg [at] ens.fr
Guillaume Genero genero [at] bu.edu
Louis Henaux lou.henaux [at] gmail.com
Robin Herver herver [at] bu.edu
Matthieu Laurent matthieu.laurent [at] polytechnique.edu
Eve Lehuré eve.lehure [at] ecam-rennes.com
Tom Leger tom.leger [at] etu.univ-nantes.fr
Christina Pritscher
Matthieu Santin santin.matthieu [at] hotmai.fr
Aakash Sane aakash_sane [at] brown.edu