SPH Dean Search Advisory Committee

January 17th, 2014

Dear Colleagues:

On December 20, 2013, University Provost Jean Morrison issued a call to form a Search Advisory Committee for the Dean of the School of Public Health.

Pursuant to the Faculty Handbook, the Faculty Council elects two (2) current Faculty Assembly members to serve on the Search Advisory Committee.  These faculty members must hold appointments external to the school or college subject to the search.

The search for and recommendation of a dean is one of the most important ways that faculty engage in university governance.  Search Advisory Committee members must be prepared to prioritize and devote considerable time to their task, including some dinner times.

If you would like to stand for election to the Search Advisory Committee, please write to the Faculty Council office with the subject line “SPH Dean Search Advisory Committee.”  In your email, provide a brief statement of interest, including your professional qualifications and experience.  Your statement will be sent to the members of the Faculty Council.

Nominations will close on January 22, 2014.

The results of the Faculty Council vote will appear on our website on January 31, 2014.


Dr. Katheryn Pfisterer Darr

Chair, Faculty Council

Professor of Hebrew Bible

School of Theology