The point of creating an ePortfolio is to put content on the Web, so there’s no use to an ePortfolio with no content in it. Let’s add some information.
1. Create a module.
The basic building block of an ePortfolio is the module. Everything you put in an ePortfolio goes inside a module of some kind.
When you create a new blank page in an ePortfolio, it will give you a menu asking you what kind of module you want to create. There are several possibilities here. But let’s start with the most common and versatile kind of module: the Rich Text module (which can do much more than just text). Rich Text is selected by default, so just press the button marked Add This Module.
Your Rich Text module will now appear on the screen below the menu. Scroll down a bit and you’ll see a box like the one below, with a red banner labeled DRAFT. This is your new module.
2. Edit the module.
The Edit tab should be automatically selected at the top of this module (second from left). (If it isn’t, select it yourself.) When it’s selected, we’re ready to add content. You’ll now see something like this:
You can start typing right away in the large blank area. You can also paste text into it that you’ve cut or copied in from anywhere else on your computer. This is the way you get text into Digication.
Take a moment to notice what’s above that blank area as well. It should look familiar: it’s a toolbar of the sort you’ll find in Microsoft Word or other word-processing programs. It allows you several of the formatting features you’d find in a word processor: you can italicize text, make bulleted lists, add a table, change the font, and so on.
You can also cut/copy and paste text in from other programs. If you’re copying from Microsoft Word, make sure to use the Paste from Word button (the notepad with the blue W symbol) rather than regular Paste; it will strip out tags that Word adds which could cause display problems.
3. Save and publish the module.
Careful! You’re not done yet. After you make any additions or changes to a module, make sure to hit the Save button, on the top or bottom of the module. Not saving in Digication is like not saving in a word processor: if you close without saving, your hard work will be gone. When you save, you save as a draft: you’re the only one who can see the changes you just made, even if your portfolio is public. (The red DRAFT warning will remind you of this.) To make your changes visible to anyone else, you’ll need to publish your portfolio. Each module has a Publish button you can use to do this, but it’s usually easiest to scroll to the top of the page and click Publish This Page, which will publish all the modules on your page at once.
When your viewers look at your portfolio, they (fortunately) won’t see it with all the buttons and toolbars that you’ve been using. You may find it helpful to take a look at your page as your viewers will see it. Scroll back up to the top of your page, and you’ll see three tabs labeled Edit, Preview and Published.
Each of these presents a different way of viewing your page. Published lets you see the published page as viewers would see it right now if they entered your portfolio’s address (and they were allowed access to it). Preview lets you see the drafts: the changes that you have saved and not published, which viewers won’t see yet. With Preview, you can see what the page will look like once you’ve published those drafts. Edit takes you back to the view with all the tabs you can change.