MSE Visiting Committee

The Materials Science & Engineering (MSE) Visiting Committee will provide an independent external review once every year. The primary purpose will be to review current Division academic and research programs, assessing contributions and achievements compared to our peers, and providing help in establishing long-range goals and priorities. The focus will be on maintaining and enhancing quality, relevance and excellence, and on strengthening the reputation of the Division.

Board Members
Dr. H. Lee Buchanan is currently Venture Partner, Paladin Capital Group in Washington, DC. He is also a Director of Tektronix, Lucent-Alcatel Government Solutions, TestMart, Corp., Advantage Federal, Corp, and the Robotics Technology Consortium. Prior to Paladin Dr. Buchanan was Vice President, Advanced Concepts, EDO Corporation, a $1B producer of Intelligence, Electronic Warfare, sonar, and weapons systems for the U.S. military; Executive Vice President of Perceptis, a holding company for producers of wireless data collection and intelligence systems; and President and CEO of QualStream.
Dr. C. Barry Carter is Department Head and Professor in the Chemical, Materials & Biomolecular Engineering Department at the University of Connecticut. Professor Carter is the author of the popular textbook, “Ceramic Materials: Science and Engineering”, published by Springer. Professor Carter’s research interests are in characterization of interfaces and defects in ceramics and semiconductors.
Dr. George Craford is currently the Solid State Lighting Fellow at Philips Lumileds Lighting Company. Prior to joining Philips he was the Technical Director of the Electronics Division at Hewlett-Packard Company. At Hewlett-Packard, Craford’s group pioneered the development of various types of LEDs and products. Dr. Craford is a fellow of the IEEE and a member of the National Academy of Engineering. He has received numerous professional awards including the 2002 National Medal of Technology from the President of the United States in recognition for his contributions to the LED technology.
Dr. Arthur Gossard is Professor of Materials and Electrical and Computer Engineering at University of California, Santa Barbara. Before going to Santa Barbara in 1987, he was Distinguished Member of Technical Staff at Bell Laboratories in Murray Hill, New Jersey. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society, the IEEE and the AAAS, a Humboldt Society Senior Award recipient, a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Sciences, a recipient of the 1983 American Physical Society Oliver Buckley Condensed Matter Physics prize, the 2001 American Physical Society James McGroddy New Materials Prize, the 2009 Al Cho International MBE Award and the 2005 John Bardeen Award of the TMS. His research involves the growth of artificially structured materials by molecular beam epitaxy.
Dr. James G. Hannoosh is currently Vice President of Development for Astra Tech, Inc., and former CEO and Senior Vice President of Atlantis Components, Inc. Both companies produce dental implants and medical devices employing advanced materials.
Dr. Ron Latanision is currently Corporate Vice President & Practice Director at Exponent Engineering and Scientific Consulting, and Professor Emeritus in Materials Science and Engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a Fellow of ASM International, NACE International, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Dr. Latanision’s expertise and interests are in the areas of electrochemical science and processing technologies.
Dr. Paul Mankiewich is the CTO for service provider mobility in Cisco’s Mobile Internet Technology Group. Prior to joining Cisco, he served as Chief Architect, Mobility Solutions at Juniper Networks. Prior to Juniper Networks, he was Chief Technology Officer and Chief Architect for Lucent Technologies. He was responsible for the technology direction of all Lucent products and solutions including mobile, optical, switching and data networking solutions, IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) and end-user applications. He also served as Senior Vice President of Networking Research at Bell Laboratories.
Dr. Kwadwo Osseo-Asare is Distinguished Professor of Metallurgy and Energy and Geo-environmental Engineering in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, and the Department of Energy and Mineral Engineering at Pennsylvania State University. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering. Professor Osseo-Asare’s research interests are in the areas of materials processing in the aqueous media.
Dr. Subhash C. Singhal is Battelle Fellow and Director, Fuel Cells, in the Energy and Environment Directorate at the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, and an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Utah. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the Washington State Academy of Sciences. He served on the Electrochemical Society’s Board of Directors, was President of the International Society for Solid State Ionics. Dr. Singhal’s expertise and interests are in the areas of high temperature materials and solid oxide fuel cells.
Dr. Harry L. Tuller is Professor of Ceramics and Electronic Materials in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, and Head of the Crystal Physics and Electroceramics Laboratory at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Electroceramics, Fellow of the American Ceramic Society, elected to World Academy of Ceramics. Professor Tuller’s research interests are in the areas of electroceramics and solid-state materials.