Jarrod Milshtein (MS’13) and Co-Authors Receive 2013 TMS Light Metals Division-Energy Best Student Paper Award


Milshtein - PhotoCongratulations to Jarrod Milshtein (MS’13) and co-authors, Soumendra Basu (ME, MSE), Srikanth Gopalan (ME, MSE) and Uday Pal (ME, MSE), who have been chosen as the recipients of the 2013 TMS Light Metals Division – Energy Best Student Paper Award. Jarrod Milshtein received his BS in Mechanical Engineering and MS in Materials Science & Engineering in May 2013 and is currently a PhD student in Materials Science and Engineering at MIT.

This award recognizes the individual excellence of a paper exemplifying the application of science in solving a practical problem, and therefore must be technological in nature and present new and significant information related to an energy topic. The award winning paper is “A Thermochemical Study of the W/WO3 System: A Solar to Fuel Converter for Syngas Production”, published in Energy Technology 2013.

Formal presentation of the award will be made at the Energy Committee Meeting on Tuesday, February 18 in San Diego, California during the 143rd TMS Annual Meeting.