Exceptional ECE Senior Projects, GTF, and Professor honored at ECE Day 2007

in NEWS, Students

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering wishes to congratulate this year’s ECE Day award recipients. Each year at the end of the spring semester, the ECE Department holds ECE Day, a full-day event designed to bring together ECE students, faculty, alumni, industry representatives, and other students to celebrate the accomplishments of the Department’s seniors design project teams, present graduate student posters, and honor the exceptional work of a graduate teaching fellow (GTF) and the outstanding teaching record of a faculty member. This year, ECE Day was held on Friday, May 7, 2007. Following a morning of senior capstone project presentations, the Department held an appreciation luncheon where the best presentations awards, the GTF of the Year award, and the Faculty Teaching Award were presented. This year’s Best Presentation awards were presented to:

  • Team 1, Blinky Blocks: Ronald Hayduk, Timothy Loughran, Stephen Snyder, and Marco Tavernini
  • Team 5, Esplanade Runner: Ilya Gribov, Robert Levy, Kevin Mader, and Jimmy Ng
  • Team 18, Space Monkeys: George Bishop, Peter Dib, Brandi Pitta, and Noam Yemini

Also presented during the luncheon was the GTF of the Year award, which went to electrical engineering PhD student John Henson and the Faculty Teaching Award, which was awarded to Professor David Castañon. For further information on ECE Day 2007, including detailed descriptions of each senior capstone project, please download the ECE Day 2007 booklet.