Fourth Annual CISE Graduate Student Research Award: Science & Engineering Research Symposium 2007


The Center for Information and Systems Engineering (CISE) held their Fourth Annual Poster Awards event at Science and Engineering Research Symposium 2007. All students working with CISE affiliated faculty were eligible.

Congratulations to CISE First Prize ($500) Award winner Ashraf al Daoud and CISE Honorable Mention ($100) winners Ye Wang, Georgios Smaragdakis, and Boyan Yordanov. Complete participant list.

Ashraf Al Daoud (pictured here) won the CISE Award for his poster entitled “Secondary Pricing of Spectrum in Cellular CDMA Networks.” Ashraf is a graduate student in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department advised by Professor Murat Alanyali.

Ye Wang, also of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, earned his Honorable Mention for his poster entitled “On Distributed Field Reconstruction with Unreliable, Randomly Deployed, One-Bit, Noisy Sensors.” He is advised by Assistant Professor Prakash Ishwar.

Georgios Smaragdakis, a Computer Science graduate student advised by Professor Azer Bestavros, was awarded an Honorable Mention for his poster “The Selfish Neighbor Selection Problem in Overlay Networks.” His poster was the result of collaborative research with Nikolaos Laoutaris and Mema Roussopoulos of Harvard University and John W. Byers of Boston University.

Boyan Yordanov, of the Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering and the Manufacturing Departments, was awarded an Honorable Mention as well for his poster entitled “Model Checking Discrete-Time Piecewise Affine Systems: Applications to Gene Networks.” His advisor is Assistant Professor Calin Belta.

The 2007 CISE judges were:

Pierre Dupont, Associate Professor, Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering
Michael Caramanis, Professor, Manufacturing Engineering
Ibrahim Matta, Associate Professor, Computer Science
David Starobinski, Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering