Faculty

Kehinde Ajayi, Assistant Professor

ECONHEADSleave of absence, academic year 2014 – 2015
PhD, University of California at Berkeley
Fields: Economics of Education, Development Economics, Labor Economics
Room 501, (617) 353-4144
Website | kajayi@bu.edu | C.V.

Marianne Baxter, Professor

PhD, University of Chicago
Fields: International Trade and Finance, Macroeconomics
Room 505, (617) 353-2417
Website | mbaxter@bu.edu | C.V.

Samuel Bazzi, Assistant Professor

Bazzi-SamPhD, University of California, San Diego
Fields: Development, Labor, Migration, International Trade
Room 513, (617)353-6150
Website | sbazzi@bu.edu | C.V.

Regina Cati, Instructor

PhD, University of Sao Paulo
Fields: Applied Econometrics, Latin American Economic Development, Applied Macroeconomics
Room 539, (617) 353-4249
catir@bu.edu

Christophe Chamley, Professor

PhD, Harvard University
Fields: Information, Public Economics, Macroeconomics, Monetary Theory, Development Economics
Room 401, (617) 353-4250
Website | chamley@bu.edu

Francesco Decarolis, Assistant Professor

ECONHEADSPhD, University of Chicago
Fields: Industrial Organization
Room 310, (617) 358-4535
Website | fdc@bu.edu | C.V.

Peter B. Doeringer, Emeritus Professor

Doeringer-PeterPhD, Harvard University
Fields: Labor, Industrial Relations, Industry Economics
Room 404A, (617)358-0571
Website | doeringe@bu.edu | C.V.

Randall P. Ellis, Professor

Ellis-RandyPhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Fields: Health Economics, Industrial Organization, Econometrics
Room 555, (617) 353-2741
Website | ellisrp@bu.edu | C.V.

Larry G. Epstein, Professor

Esptein-LarryPhD, University of British Columbia
Fields: Mathematical Economics, Decision Theory, Asset Pricing
Room 448, (617) 353-4142
Website | lepstein@bu.edu | C.V.

Ivan Fernandez-Val, Associate Professor

ECONHEADSPhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Fields: Econometric Theory, Applied Econometrics, Labor
Room 415A, (617) 353-9670
Website | ivanf@bu.edu | C.V.

Carola Frydman, Assistant Professor

Frydman-Carolaleave of absence, academic year 2014 – 2015
PhD, Harvard University
Fields: Economic History, Corporate Finance, Labor Economics
Room 307, (617) 353-4396
Website | cfrydman@bu.edu | C.V.

Stefania Garetto, Assistant Professor

Garetto-StefaniaPhD, University of Chicago
Fields: International Trade, Macroeconomics
Room 415B, (617) 358-5887
Website | garettos@bu.edu | C.V.

George Georgiadis, Assistant Professor

George GeorgiadisPhD, University of California, Los Angeles
Fields: Microeconomic Theory, Game Theory, and Industrial Organization
Room 548, (617) 353-4140
Website | gjg@bu.edu | C.V.

Sambuddha Ghosh, Assistant Professor

Ghosh-SambuddhaPhD, Princeton University
Fields: Economic Theory, Game Theory, Political Economy
Room 549, (617) 353-4031
Website | sghosh@bu.edu | C.V.

Simon Gilchrist, Professor

Gilchrist-SimonPhD, University of Wisconsin
Fields: Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics, Econometrics
Room 404, (617) 353-6824
Website | sgilchri@bu.edu | C.V.

Adam Guren, Assistant Professor

SONY DSCPhD, Harvard University
Fields: Macroeconomics, Real Estate, Labor Economics
Room 400, (617) 353-4534
Website | guren@bu.edu | C.V.

John R. Harris, Professor

ECONHEADSPhD, Northwestern University
Fields: Macroeconomic Theory, Monetary Economics, Migration Theory,Regulation/Urban Economics
Room 517B, (617) 353-8903
harrisjr@bu.edu

Hsueh-Ling Huynh, Master Lecturer,
Director of MA Programs in Economics

ECONHEADSPhD (Mathematics), University of California at Berkeley
Fields: mathematical Economics, Economic Theory, Decision Theory, Game Theory, Social Choice Theory
Room 309, (617) 353-6823
Website | hlhuynh@bu.edu

Todd Idson, Associate Professor,
Director of Undergraduate Studies

Idson-ToddPhD, Columbia University
Fields: Labor Economics, Applied Econometrics, Sports Economics
Room 418, (617) 353-2742
tidson@bu.edu

Jordi Jaumandreu, Sr. Research Associate and Sr. Lecturer

SONY DSCPhD, UNED, Spain
Fields: Industrial Organization, Applied Microeconomics and Microeconometrics
Room 416A, (617) 358-5925
Website | jordij@bu.edu | C.V.

Leroy Jones, Professor

PhD, Harvard University
Fields: Public Economics, Development, Industrial Organization
Room 517C, (617) 353-4123
Website | jones@bu.edu

Hiroaki Kaido, Assistant Professor

ECONOMICSPhD, University of California, San Diego
Fields: Econometric Theory, Microeconometrics, Empirical Finance
Room 415D, (617) 358-5924
Website| hkaido@bu.edu | C.V.

Robert G. King, Professor

King-BobPhD, Brown University
Fields: Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics, Economic Growth
Room 502, (617) 353-5941
Website | rking@bu.edu | C.V.

Laurence J. Kotlikoff, Professor,
A William Fairfield Warren Professor

Kotlikoff-LarryPhD, Harvard University
Fields: Macroeconomics, Public Finance
Room 300, (617) 353-4002
Website | kotlikof@bu.edu | C.V.

Kevin Lang, Professor

SONY DSCPhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Fields: Labor, Econometrics
Room 302A, (617) 353-5694
Website | lang@bu.edu | C.V.

Barton Lipman, Professor, Department Chair

Lipman-BartPhD, University of Michigan
Fields: Decision Theory, Economic Theory
Room 558, (617) 353-2995
Website | blipman@bu.edu | C.V.

Robert E.B. Lucas, Professor

ECONHEADSPhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Fields: Development Economics, International Economics, Quantitative Methods, Labor
Room 500, (617) 353-4147
Website | rlucas@bu.edu

Ching-To Albert Ma, Professor

ECONHEADSPhD, London School of Economics
Fields: Incentives and Contract Theory, Industrial Organization, Health Economics
Room 557, (617) 353-4010
Website | ma@bu.edu | C.V.

Michael Manove, Professor

ECONOMICSPhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Fields: Microeconomic Theory
Room 556, (617) 353-3299
Website | manove@bu.edu | C.V.

Robert A. Margo, Professor

SONY DSCPhD, Harvard University
Fields: Economic History, Labor Economics
Room 311, (617) 353-6819
Website | margora@bu.edu | C.V.

Alisdair McKay, Assistant Professor

ECONOMICSPhD, Princeton University
Fields: Macroeconomics
Room 403, (617) 353-6324
Website | amckay@bu.edu | C.V.

Jianjun Miao, Professor

Miao-JianjunPhD, University of Rochester
Fields: Macroeconomics, Finance
Room 434,(617) 353-6675
Website | miaoj@bu.edu | C.V.

Dilip Mookherjee, Professor,
Director of the Institute for Economic Development

SONY DSCPhD, London School of Economics
Fields: Development/Contract and Organization Theory
Room 500A, (617) 353-4392
Website | dilipm@bu.edu | C.V.

Andrew F. Newman, Professor

SONY DSCPhD, Harvard University
Fields: Contracts and Organizations, Development, Economic Theory
Room 507, (617) 358-4354
Website | afnewman@bu.edu

Jawwad Noor, Associate Professor

Noor-JawwadPhD, University of Rochester
Fields: Economic Theory, Decision Theory, Psychology and Economics
Room 553, (617) 353-4436
Website | jnoor@bu.edu | C.V.

Claudia Olivetti, Associate Professor

ECONHEADSPhD, University of Pennsylvania
Fields: Labor, Family Economics, Macroeconomics
Room 415C, (617) 353-4824
Website | olivetti@bu.edu | C.V.

Juan Ortner, Assistant Professor

ECONHEADSPhD, Princeton University
Fields: Microeconomic Theory, Game Theory, and Political Economy
Room 522, (617) 353-6323
Website | jortner@bu.edu | C.V.

Daniele Paserman, Professor

Paserman-DanielePhD, Harvard University
Fields: Labor Economics, Applied Microeconomics, Political Economy, behavioral Economics
Room 302, (617) 353-5695
Website | paserman@bu.edu | C.V.

Pierre Perron, Professor,
Director of Graduate Studies

Perron-PierrePhD, Yale University
Fields: Econometrics, Theoretical and Applied Time Series Analysis
Room 449, (617) 353-3026
Website | perron@bu.edu | C.V.

Bjorn Persson, Lecturer

PhD, Stockholm School of Economics
Fields: Industrial Organization, Health Economics
Room 416B, (617) 358-5926
bpersson@bu.edu

Zhongjun Qu, Associate Professor

ECONOMICSon sabbatical, Fall 2014
PhD, Boston University
Fields: Econometrics, quantitative macroeconomics, empirical finance
Room 312, (617)353-3184
Website | qu@bu.edu | C.V.

James B. Rebitzer, Professor (SMG, Affiliated with CAS Economics)

Rebitzer-JimSchool of Management, Professor of Management, Economics and Public Policy
Chair of Markets, Public Policy and Law Department (SMG)
Everett V. Lord Distinguished Faculty Scholar

Ph.D. in Economics, University of Massachusetts at Amherst
Fields: Economics of organizations and incentive systems, personnel economics, Health economics, Labor economics, Behavioral economics
Room 637A at 595 Commonwealth Avenue, (617) 353-4605
Website | rebitzer@bu.edu | C.V.

Marc Rysman, Professor

ECONOMICSon sabbatical, academic year 2014 – 2015
PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Fields: Industrial Organization, Applied Econometrics
Room 304, (617) 353-3086
Website | mrysman@bu.edu | C.V.

Johannes Schmieder, Assistant Professor

ECONHEADSon leave of absence, Fall 2014
PhD, Columbia University
Fields: Labor Economics, Health Economics, Industrial Organization, Environmental Policy and Regulation
Room 305, (617) 358-5923
Website | johannes@bu.edu | C.V.

Pankaj Tandon, Associate Professor

ECONHEADSPhD, Harvard University
Fields: Technological Change, Microeconomic Theory, Public Enterprise, Development
Room 526, (617) 353-3089
Website | ptandon@bu.edu | C.V.

Ingo Vogelsang, Professor

Vogelsang-IngoDr. rer. pol., University of Heidelberg
Fields: Industrial Organization, Public Policy, Public Enterprise
Room 554, (617) 353-2996
Website | vogelsan@bu.edu | C.V.

Bruce Watson, Senior Lecturer

MA, University of Colorado, Denver
Fields: Microeconomics
Room 537, (617) 353-5852
bdwatson@bu.edu