Faculty

Kehinde Ajayi, Assistant Professor

ECONHEADSPhD, University of California at Berkeley
Fields: Economics of Education, Development Economics, Labor Economics
Room 501, (617) 353-4144
Website | kajayi@bu.edu

Marianne Baxter, Professor

PhD, University of Chicago
Fields: International Trade and Finance, Macroeconomics
Room 505, (617) 353-2417
Website | mbaxter@bu.edu

Samuel Bazzi, Assistant Professor

Bazzi-Samleave of absence Spring 2017
PhD, University of California, San Diego
Fields: Development, Labor, Migration, International Trade
Room 513, (617) 353-6150
Website | sbazzi@bu.edu

Neal Becker, Master Lecturer

PhD, University of Pittsburgh
Room 447, (617) 353-4447
nbecker@bu.edu

Geoffrey Carliner, Lecturer

Econ-155PhD, University of California, Berkeley
Fields: Labor, International Finance, International Trade
Room 313, (617) 353-5663
carliner@bu.edu

Regina Cati, Instructor

PhD, University of Sao Paulo
Fields: Applied Econometrics, Latin American Economic Development, Applied Macroeconomics
Room 539, (617) 353-4249
catir@bu.edu

Christophe Chamley, Professor

PhD, Harvard University
Fields: Information, Public Economics, Macroeconomics, Monetary Theory, Development Economics
Room 401, (617) 353-4250
Website | chamley@bu.edu

Francesco Decarolis, Assistant Professor

ECONHEADSleave of absence 2016-17
PhD, University of Chicago
Fields: Industrial Organization
Room 310, (617) 358-4535
Website | fdc@bu.edu

Ishita Dey, Lecturer

PhD, State University of New York at Buffalo
Fields: Economics of Education, Applied Microeconomics, Health and Labor Economics
Room 437, (617) 353-4458
idey@bu.edu

Randall P. Ellis, Professor

EllisRandall_BU_2015PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Fields: Health Economics, Industrial Organization, Econometrics
Room 555, (617) 353-2741
Website | ellisrp@bu.edu

Larry G. Epstein, Professor

Esptein-LarryPhD, University of British Columbia
Fields: Mathematical Economics, Decision Theory, Asset Pricing
Room 448, (617) 353-4142
Website | lepstein@bu.edu

Bahar Erbas, Lecturer

Erbas, BaharPhD, The Pennsylvania State University
Fields: Environmental and Resource Economics, Energy Economics and Applied Microeconomics
Room 545, (617) 358-0226
erbasb@bu.edu

Ivan Fernandez-Val, Professor

ECONHEADSPhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Fields: Econometric Theory, Applied Econometrics, Labor
Room 415A, (617) 353-9670
Website | ivanf@bu.edu

Raymond Fisman, Professor
Slater Family Professor in Behavioral Economics

15-9165-ARFISMANPhD, Harvard University
Fields: Development, Behavioral
Room 304A, (617) 353-6821
Website | rfisman@bu.edu

Martin Fiszbein, Assistant Professor

Econ-261PhD, Brown University
Fields: Economic Growth and Development, Economic History, Urban Economics
Room 524, (617) 353-9583
Website | fiszbein@bu.edu

Stefania Garetto, Assistant Professor

Garetto-StefaniaPhD, University of Chicago
Fields: International Trade, Macroeconomics
Room 415B, (617) 358-5887
Website | garettos@bu.edu

Simon Gilchrist, Professor

Gilchrist-SimonPhD, University of Wisconsin
Fields: Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics, Econometrics
Room 404, (617) 353-6824
Website | sgilchri@bu.edu

Adam Guren, Assistant Professor

SONY DSCPhD, Harvard University
Fields: Macroeconomics, Real Estate, Labor Economics
Room 400, (617) 353-4534
Website | guren@bu.edu

John R. Harris, Professor

ECONHEADSPhD, Northwestern University
Fields: Macroeconomic Theory, Monetary Economics, Migration Theory, Regulation/Urban Economics
Room 517B, (617) 353-8903
harrisjr@bu.edu

Hsueh-Ling Huynh, Master Lecturer,
Director of Master’s Programs in Economics

ECONHEADSPhD (Mathematics), University of California at Berkeley
Fields: Mathematical Economics, Economic Theory, Decision Theory, Game Theory, Social Choice Theory
Room 309, (617) 353-6823
Website | hlhuynh@bu.edu

Todd Idson, Master Lecturer,
Director of Undergraduate Studies

Idson-ToddPhD, Columbia University
Fields: Labor Economics, Applied Econometrics, Sports Economics
Room 418, (617) 353-2742
tidson@bu.edu

Jordi Jaumandreu, Senior Academic Researcher and Lecturer

SONY DSCPhD, UNED, Spain
Fields: Industrial Organization, Applied Microeconomics and Microeconometrics
Room 416A, (617) 358-5925
Website | jordij@bu.edu

Leroy Jones, Professor

PhD, Harvard University
Fields: Public Economics, Development, Industrial Organization
Room 517C, (617) 353-4123
jones@bu.edu

Hiroaki Kaido, Assistant Professor

ECONOMICSPhD, University of California, San Diego
Fields: Econometric Theory, Microeconometrics, Empirical Finance
Room 415D, (617) 358-5924
Website| hkaido@bu.edu

Robert G. King, Professor

King-BobPhD, Brown University
Fields: Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics, Economic Growth
Room 502, (617) 353-5941
Website | rking@bu.edu

Benjamin Koskinen, Lecturer

KoskinenPhD, Suffolk University
Fields: Political Economics, Industrial Organization
Room 429, (617) 358-2603
bkosk@bu.edu

Laurence J. Kotlikoff, Professor,
A William Fairfield Warren Professor

Kotlikoff-LarryPhD, Harvard University
Fields: Macroeconomics, Public Finance
Room 300, (617) 353-4002
Website | kotlikof@bu.edu

Kevin Lang, Professor

SONY DSCPhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Fields: Labor, Econometrics
Room 302A, (617) 353-5694
Website | lang@bu.edu

Barton Lipman, Professor
Department Chair

Lipman-BartPhD, University of Michigan
Fields: Decision Theory, Economic Theory
Room 558, (617) 353-2995
Website | blipman@bu.edu

Robert E.B. Lucas, Professor

ECONHEADSPhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Fields: Development Economics, International Economics, Quantitative Methods, Labor
Room 500, (617) 353-4147
Website | rlucas@bu.edu

Ching-To Albert Ma, Professor

Econ-58Sabbatical Spring 2017
PhD, London School of Economics
Fields: Incentives and Contract Theory, Industrial Organization, Health Economics
Room 557, (617) 353-4010
Website | ma@bu.edu

Michael Manove, Professor

ECONOMICSPhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Fields: Microeconomic Theory
Room 556, (617) 353-3299
Website | manove@bu.edu

Robert A. Margo, Professor

MargoPhD, Harvard University
Fields: Economic History, Labor Economics
Room 311, (617) 353-6819
Website | margora@bu.edu

Alisdair McKay, Assistant Professor

ECONOMICSPhD, Princeton University
Fields: Macroeconomics
Room 403, (617) 353-6324
Website | amckay@bu.edu

Jianjun Miao, Professor

Miao-JianjunPhD, University of Rochester
Fields: Macroeconomics, Finance
Room 434,(617) 353-6675
Website | miaoj@bu.edu

Dilip Mookherjee, Professor,
Director of the Institute for Economic Development

SONY DSCPhD, London School of Economics
Fields: Development/Contract and Organization Theory
Room 500A, (617) 353-4392
Website | dilipm@bu.edu

Andrew F. Newman, Professor

SONY DSCPhD, Harvard University
Fields: Contracts and Organizations, Development, Economic Theory
Room 507, (617) 358-4354
Website | afnewman@bu.edu

Jawwad Noor, Associate Professor

Noor-JawwadPhD, University of Rochester
Fields: Economic Theory, Decision Theory, Psychology and Economics
Room 553, (617) 353-4436
Website | jnoor@bu.edu

Juan Ortner, Assistant Professor

ECONHEADSPhD, Princeton University
Fields: Microeconomic Theory, Game Theory, and Political Economy
Room 522, (617) 353-6323
Website | jortner@bu.edu

Daniele Paserman, Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

Paserman-Daniele-2014PhD, Harvard University
Fields: Labor Economics, Applied Microeconomics, Political Economy, Behavioral Economics
Room 302, (617) 353-5695
Website | paserman@bu.edu

Pierre Perron, Professor

Perron-PierrePhD, Yale University
Fields: Econometrics, Theoretical and Applied Time Series Analysis
Room 449, (617) 353-3026
Website | perron@bu.edu

Bjorn Persson, Lecturer

PhD, Stockholm School of Economics
Fields: Industrial Organization, Health Economics
Room 416B, (617) 358-5926
bpersson@bu.edu

Zhongjun Qu, Associate Professor

ECONOMICSPhD, Boston University
Fields: Econometrics, Quantitative Macroeconomics, Empirical Finance
Room 407, (617) 358-5921
Website | qu@bu.edu

James B. Rebitzer, Professor (Affiliated)

Rebitzer-JimEverett W. Lord Distinguished Faculty Scholar, Department of Markets, Public Policy and Law, Questrom School of Business
Fields: Economics of Organizations and Incentive Systems, Personnel Economics, Health Economics, Labor Economics, Behavioral Economics
Room 637A at 595 Commonwealth Avenue, (617) 353-4605
Website | rebitzer@bu.edu

Marc Rysman, Professor

ECONOMICSPhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Fields: Industrial Organization, Applied Econometrics
Room 304, (617) 353-3086
Website | mrysman@bu.edu

Johannes Schmieder, Assistant Professor

ECONHEADSPhD, Columbia University
Fields: Labor Economics, Health Economics, Industrial Organization, Environmental Policy and Regulation
Room 305, (617) 358-5923
Website | johannes@bu.edu

Andre Switala, Lecturer

PhD, Brown University
Fields: Macroeconomics, Economic Growth, Human Capital
Room 434, (617) 358-2604
switala@bu.edu

Pankaj Tandon, Associate Professor

ECONHEADSPhD, Harvard University
Fields: Technological Change, Microeconomic Theory, Public Enterprise, Development
Room 526, (617) 353-3089
Website | ptandon@bu.edu

Stephen Terry, Assistant Professor

Stephen_Terry

Phd, Stanford University
Fields: Macroeconomics, International Economics, Finance
Room 408, (617) 353-4455
Website | stephent@bu.edu

Ingo Vogelsang, Professor

Vogelsang-IngoDr. rer. pol., University of Heidelberg
Fields: Industrial Organization, Public Policy, Public Enterprise
Room 554, (617) 353-2996
Website | vogelsan@bu.edu

Bruce Watson, Senior Lecturer

MA, University of Colorado, Denver
Fields: Microeconomics
Room 537, (617) 353-5852
bdwatson@bu.edu