GSDM Alumni Meet at Annual ADA Meeting in Atlanta

26440368539_b7cd4e7be6_c50 members of the Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine (GSDM) community attended the GSDM Alumni Reception held during the 2017 American Dental Association (ADA) Annual Session from October 19-23 in Atlanta, GA.  Hosted by Dean Jeffrey W. Hutter and Dr. Sean Rayment, President of the GSDM Alumni Association, the alumni reception was held on October 20, 2017 at the Marriott Marriot Marquis Atlanta Hotel.

At this year’s ADA Annual Session, GSDM was well represented at both the American College of Dentists (ACD) and the International College of Dentists (ICD) Convocation ceremonies, with a total of ten inductees. Dean Jeffrey W. Hutter and Dr. Sean Rayment DMD 97 DSc 00, President of the GSDM Alumni Association represented GSDM at both ceremonies.

The ACD and the ICD recognize dentists for their individual achievements, leadership, and contributions to dentistry and society. This year’s ACD inductees were; Dr. Vipul Singhal DMD 06 and Dr. Firouz Massih Tehrani PGOE 80 DMD 82. The GSDM ICD inductees were Dr. Elizabeth Garrett Benz DMD 11; Dr. Joseph M. Calabrese DMD 91, AEGD 92; Dr. Iman S. Labib DMD 96 ENDO 01; Dr. Roxana Hashemian AEGD 12 SPH 17; Dr. Hesham Nouh DSc 12 PROS 15; Dr. Kadambari Rawal AEGD 10 MScD 17; Dr. Gail McCausland, Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Periodontology; and Dr. John Kiang DMD 10

During the alumni reception, after Dr. Rayment welcomed the alumni and guests, Dean Hutter took the opportunity to update the alumni as to the status of the GSDM Addition and Renovation construction project, slated to break ground in January 2018.  The alumni were also treated to a 3D virtual experience of the new building, using 3D glasses that utilize mobile devices to give users a life-like tour of the project. Dean Hutter also played for them the latest video rendering of the exterior and interior of the building, which gives viewers a complete view of the School’s new space.  Dean Hutter concluded his remarks by introducing Amanda Warren, GSDM Director of Meetings & Events, and thanking her for organizing the 2017 GSDM ADA Alumni Reception.

In attendance at the alumni reception were: Maryssa Allen DMD 19; Wallace Bellamy DMD 89; Elizabeth Benz DMD 11; Salil Bhende DMD 99; Samuel Coffin DMD 85 and guest Deborah Coppa; Dr. Joesph Calabrese DMD 91 AEGD 92, Dean of Students, and his wife Michelle; Ivan Chan; Charlotte Chin; Jeane Chung DMD 94; Molly Conlon DMD 19; Enrique Corona; Tadasha Culbreath; Dr. Margaret Errante, Director of the Dental Health Center; Andrea Fernandez DMD 21; John Fitzsimons DMD 11; Dr. John Guarente DMD 89, Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs; John Gusha DMD 84; Destinee Ingrao DMD 15; Lindsey Jackson DMD 12 and guest Scott Butler; Serena Jacob DMD 11; Guenter Jonke DMD 88; Dr. Ryota Kikuchi, Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of General Dentistry, and Practice Leader in the Predoctoral Patient Treatment Center; James Kohner PERIO 71; Iman Labib DMD 96 ENDO 01 and guest Sam Ezzat; David Lane DMD 16; Vhian Lee; Yu-Liu Lin; Dr. Bing Liu DSc99 DMD 03, Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of General Dentistry; Dr. David Lustbader DMD 86, Chair of the Dean’s Advisory Board, and his wife Wendy; Brittany McCarthy DMD 06; Dr. Gail McCausland, Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Periodontology; Dr. Gigi Meinecke DMD 88 and President-elect of the GSDM Alumni Association; Ami Patel DMD 10 AEGD 12 ENDO 13; Dr. Mina Paul SPH 97, Dean’s Advisory Board Member; Vanessa Phan DMD 99; Ron Perry DMD 88; Dr. Sean Rayment DMD 97 DSc 00, President of the GSDM Alumni Association; JP Singh; Sheetal Suryawanshi DMD 08; Firouz Masih Tehrani PGOE 80 DMD 82; Sandy Wang; and Amerlie Yi DMD 10.

Next year’s ADA Meeting will be held in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Photos of the ACD and ICD inductions, as well as the alumni reception, can be found on Flickr.

Alumni reception photos

ACD photos

ICD photos