MDS Awards Honor Staff/Faculty and Benefit Students

10 under 10-200
Drs. Dano and Kanasi at the awards ceremony

The Massachusetts Dental Society (MDS) honored the School three times over at its Presidential Awards on Wednesday, January 29, 2014, during Yankee Dental Congress (YDC). Group Practice Leaders Dr. David Dano and Dr. Eleni Kanasi received the competitive Ten Under Ten Award. Senior Laboratory Assistant Mark Kaplan accepted the John T. Griffin Technician of the Year award.

Ten Under Ten recognizes (you guessed it) 10 dentists who are making significant contributions to the profession, their community, or organized dentistry, and have been practicing for less than 10 years.

Both Dano and Kanasi say students will benefit from their win, too. “The awards give us an opportunity to network with other dental professionals, and that will mean students will feel advantages as well,” said Dano. Kanasi agreed, noting they are speaking to practitioners they met at the ceremony about giving lectures at GSDM.

Dano, who nominated Kanasi, said of her: “I know Dr. Kanasi’s track record and how she has elevated our students’ education, so to me it was natural.”

The two completed residencies together at GSDM in 2011—Kanasi in PERIO and Dano in AEGD.

“It’s exciting to be recognized by somebody outside the University, especially such a prestigious society as the MDS,” said Dr. Kanasi. “It’s a great honor.”

Fellow Group Practice Leader Dr. Ryota Kikuchi nominated Dano. Kikuchi said: “I have known Dr. Dano for several years as my colleague at BU and at the Dental Health Center. Dr. Dano has outstanding clinical skills and comprehensive multidisciplinary knowledge. Dr. Dano is involved both in national and international leadership programs, as well as community health outreach projects and organized dentistry and I thought he would be a great candidate for this award.”

About winning Technician of the Year, Mark Kaplan said, “I can’t tell you how proud I am of receiving this award,” which fellow GSDM staff member Leila Rosenthal won previously.

The winner is selected by the YDC Oversight Committee, including YDC General Chair and GSDM Professor Dr. Carl McManama.

“The Committee works with MDS staff, who present a list of individuals who have made significant contributions to YDC,” explains Dr. McManama. “The Committee then votes for the winner.”

“Congratulations to all three winners of the MDS Presidential Awards,” said Dean Jeffrey W. Hutter. “Dr. Dano, Dr. Kanasi, and Mr. Kaplan truly exemplify the type of excellent staff and faculty we aspire to retain at the Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine.”