Awards, Presentations, & Celebration at AADR Annual Meeting

AADR-200-FINFaculty, staff, and students of Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine (GSDM) represented the School in full force at the International Association for Dental Research (IADR)/American Association for Dental Research (AADR)/Canadian Association for Dental Research (CADR) General Session & Exhibition in Seattle, Washington, from March 20 to 23, 2013.

The GSDM community seized the occasion of the AADR General Session to raise the School’s profile in education and research. For the first time, GSDM highlighted the School’s research with a booth in the exhibition hall. The GSDM booth had many visitors during the conference. The meeting featured 40 presentations by GSDM researchers and several GSDM researchers received awards at the meeting in recognition of their research excellence.

On Thursday evening of the AADR General Session & Exhibition, alumni, staff, faculty, students, and friends of GSDM gathered for a reception at the Sheraton Seattle Hotel to connect, reconnect, and to celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the School’s founding.


Associate Professor of Periodontology & Oral Biology Dr. Eva Helmerhorst won the prestigious Salivary Researcher of the Year award.

Erik Harriman DMD 14 was awarded an AADR Student Research Fellowship sponsored by the IADR Dental Materials Group. Erik carried out his research project under the direction of Dr. Yuki Mochida in the Department of Periodontology and Oral Biology.

Erin Breen, DMD 15, who worked in Dr. Maria Kukuruzinska’s laboratory in the Department of Molecular & Cell Biology, was awarded an AADR Travel Grant sponsored by the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research.

Said Dean Jeffrey W. Hutter, “On behalf of the entire Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine community, I extend my congratulations to Dr. Helmerhorst, Erik, and Erin on their awards and to all of the research presenters on their accomplishments.


Faculty presenters included: Dr. Laisheng Chou; Dr. Serge Dibart; Dr. Russell Giordano; Dr. Robert Gyurko; Dr. Bo Hou; Dr. Eva J. Helmerhorst; Dr. Christopher Hughes; Dr. Judith Jones; Dr. Marianne Jurasic; Dr. Matthew Miner; Dr. Dan Nathanson; Dr. Richard Pober; Dr. Paul Rigali; Dr. Woosung Sohn; Dr. Philip Trackman; Carolyn Wehler; Dr. Guoxian Wei; and Dr. Leslie Will.

Also presenting was alum Terawat Tosiriwatanapong PROS 15.

Students presenting their research included: Najla Sulaiman A. Alrejaye ORTHO 16; Mohammad Assaggaf ORAL BIO 13; Mohamed Bamashmous ORTHO 13; Berokh Bavar DMD13; Ella Botchevar DMD14; Erin Breen DMD 15; Sonal Chhanabhai DMD15; Joshua Gilbert DMD 14; Matthew Green DMD 15; Ritu Gupta ORTHO 13;  Erik Harriman DMD 14; Debora Heller PERIO 16, ORAL BIO 16; Patrapan Juntavee ORTHO 15; Kelly Labs ORTHO 13; Yang Li ORTHO 13; Yuhe Lu ORTHO 13; Arash Rajaei ORTHO 13; Na Tian PERIO 14; Wyatt Traina DMD 14; Sundharamani Venkitapathi ORAL BIO 14; and Giuseppina Verde DMD 13.

A full list of GSDM presenters and presentations is available here.

Professor and Chair of Health Policy & Health Services Research and Director of the Northeast Center for Research to Evaluate and Eliminate Dental Disparities (CREEDD) Dr. Raul Garcia served as a panelist for the IADR Global Oral Health Inequalities Research Agenda discussion, “On Oral Health Inequalities—What Directions Should Future Research Take?”

As Oral Session Chair, Associate Professor of Health Policy & Health Services Research and Director of the Advanced Specialty Education Program in Dental Health Dr. Woosung Sohn gave the Oral Session keynote address, “Oral Health in Middle and Older Adulthood.”

Said Dean Jeffrey W. Hutter, “It is through efforts like those shown at this conference that We convey to the global community the School’s mission to be the premier academic dental institution promoting excellence in dental education, research, oral health care, and community service to improve the overall health of the global population.”

Photos are available on Facebook and Flickr.