Jawbreakers Win Intramural Hockey Championship

Jawbreakers-200The GSDM intramural ice hockey team, the Jawbreakers, defeated Saucy and Frothy (3-2) to win the 2012 Boston University Intramural Championship Game on Wednesday, November 7.

Team members included GSDM students: Julian Camastra, Rob Cauley, Christopher Chan, Adrian De Vincenzo, Richard “Trip” Egan, Tony Faraco-Hadlock, Kyle Ivy, Alan Jue, Tom Keeling, Sara Mandell, Dan Moynihan, Paul Nardi, Caitlin Reddy, and Melissa Smith. Also on the team were faculty and staff members: Mr. Andy Burke (captain), Dr, Sheldon Itzkowitz, and Dr. Frank Schiano.

The win was particularly gratifying since Saucy and Frothy beat the Jawbreakers in last year’s Championship.

“This was a very exciting game against a talented group of hockey players,” said Dr. Joseph Calabrese, assistant dean of students. “To see the expressions on the faces of our students and their captain Mr. Burke after finally winning the title was priceless. This was a true team effort!”

Captain Andy Burke was especially grateful to the seniors for their extensive contributions to the team.

“A special thanks to our seniors who have been with the team for four years and will be missed next year,” said Burke.

“Congratulations to the Jawbreakers on their victory,” said Dean Jeffrey W. Hutter. “Your teamwork is truly inspiring.”

Photos are available on Facebook and Flickr.