Graduates Honored at Periodontology & Oral Biology Reception

perio-grad-2012Chair of Periodontology & Oral Biology, Director of the Advanced Specialty Education Program in Periodontics at GSDM, and Professor Dr. Serge Dibart hosted a reception honoring the graduating periodontology and oral biology residents May 25, 2012 at the BU Castle.

The evening featured a cocktail reception, dinner, presentation of awards, and many kind remarks made by the faculty and residents. Dean Jeffrey W. Hutter started the evening off with welcoming remarks. He said, “I would like to congratulate the graduating residents on their significant achievements. The entire faculty of the Advanced Specialty Education Program in Periodontology under the leadership of Dr. Dibart and Director of Oral Biology Research Professor Dr. Phillip Trackman certainly deserve recognition for their commitment to the education of these fine graduates.”

The following awards were presented at the reception: Best Resident in Periodontology Award to Cynthia Yee AEGD 08, ORAL BIO 12 (MScD), PERIO 12; Ruben Scholarship to Kiri Chang PERIO 13; the Stallard Research Award to Konstantina Thomadaki PERIO 12; and the Teaching AAP Award to Clinical Assistant Professor Dr. Gail McCausland.

Dr. Dibart congratulated the graduates for their impressive accomplishments. He also thanked their families and the faculty and staff of Periodontology & Oral Biology for their dedication to the residents’ education.

To the residents, Dibart said, “There is no doubt in my mind that you will be successful in your undertaking as periodontists in private practice or teachers/researchers in academia. You have demonstrated your superior skills and talents during the two tri-school symposia we have hosted this year. You should feel proficient in your chosen discipline. We are proud of you.”

Congratulations to the 2012 Periodontology & Oral Biology graduates:

Gokay Goktug ORAL BIO 12 (MScD), Robert Gyurko PERIO 12, Paola Andrea Hurtado Buckley ORAL BIO 08, PERIO 12 (CAGS), Wen-Tse Lin PERIO 12 (CAGS) ORAL BIO 12 (MScD), Hesham Nouh ORAL BIO 12 (DS), Zeina Nseir PERIO 12 (CAGS) ORAL BIO 12 (MScD), Kishore Sama PERIO 12 (CAGS) ORAL BIO 12 (MScD), Abdelrouf Otman Suwid PERIO 12 (CAGS) ORAL BIO 12 (MScD), Konstantina Thomadaki PERIO 12, Cynthia Yee AEGD 08, ORAL BIO 12 (MScD), PERIO 12, and Min Zhu ORAL BIO 12 (PhD).

Photos are available on Facebook and Flickr.