News & Events

Showing News Tagged honors

Read all news

November 13th, 2013

COM grad honored by PRSA

Mass Comm, Advertising, Public Relations

Edward Parham (’94) of Clifton Park, N.Y., director of public relations at Rueckert Advertising and Public Relations, Inc., was recognized last night with the 2013 Outstanding Practitioner Award from the Public Relations Society of America’s (PRSA) Capital Region Chapter. Handed out at the PRSA’s Empire Awards gala held at The Hilton Albany, the annual honor […]

November 13th, 2013

COM alumna receives 2013 Pathbreaker Award


An estimated 100,000 American children are exploited through sex trafficking every year in the United States. To recognize a national leader in the fight to end sex trafficking, Shared Hope International will present one of its three 2013 Pathbreaker Awards to Husch Blackwell Partner Cynthia L. Cordes (’01) . Cordes recently joined the firm’s Government […]

October 30th, 2013

BU News Service wins two ONA Awards


The Boston University News Service was named the winner of two Online Journalism Awards at the 2013 Online News Association Conference. The student-run news service was nominated for the categories of Breaking News, small organization and for the student project category for its continuing coverage of the Boston Marathon bombings of April 15, 2012. See […]

October 18th, 2013

CMJ names WTBU back-to-back ‘Station of the Year’


WTBU brought home the “Station of the Year” award for the second year in a row during the 2013 annual College Radio Awards in New York City. College Music Journal (CMJ) chose WTBU out of four international nominees to win the festival’s top prize. The station was also nominated for “Best Use of Limited Resources,” […]

September 4th, 2013

Prof. Anne Donohue shares radio award


Prof. Anne Donohue and Julia Scott, a radio producer, journalist and essayist, won a 2013 Excellence in Journalism Award from the National Lesbian and Gay Journalism Association for their collaboration “BON VOYAGE” — the story of a dying man and his husband coping with the end of a life and their 36-year relationship. The award […]

May 20th, 2013

BUTV10 racks up awards for broadcast journalism


The College of Communication at Boston University is announcing that its own student-produced and managed television station, BUTV10, is the recipient of three New England Associated Press Student Awards. New England Associated Press Student Awards Best Election Coverage: BUTV10’s “Decision 2012″ Producer: Sandra Hooper (’12); Director: Andrew Fewsmith (’14) Best Public Affairs Coverage: BUTV10’s Inside […]

May 16th, 2013

COM announces 2013 Blue Chip winners

Film & Television

The Boston University College of Communication (COM) honored 12 outstanding seniors during COM’s annual Blue Chip Awards ceremony held on May 16, 2013 which was attended by students, parents, faculty and friends. The Blue Chip Award, the most prestigious student honor conferred by the College of Communication, recognizes graduating seniors for their achievements across several […]

May 3rd, 2013

BUTV10 wins three Associated Press student awards

Film & Television

The College of Communication’s own student-produced and managed television station, BUTV10, is the recipient of three New England Associated Press Student Awards, presented May 2. Best Election Coverage: “Decision 2012” Best Public Affairs Coverage: Inside Boston, “Death With Dignity & Medical Marijuana” Best News Hard Feature: “Aftermath of Superstorm Sandy” “Accepting these AP awards is […]

May 3rd, 2013

Clark named one of top 100 women in advertising


Carolyn Clark, Associate Professor of advertising, was recently named one of the “Top 100 Women We ADmire” by the Boston Ad Club. The Women’s Leadership Forum, an event sponsored by the Ad Club, presented the list at this year’s event on March 21. The Ad Club invited its community to submit nominations for the “Top […]

April 17th, 2013

Prof. Michelle Johnson named “Educator of the Year”


The National Association of Black Journalists is proud to announce the selection of Michelle Johnson as its 2013 Journalism Educator of the Year. The NABJ Board of Directors selected Johnson, an associate professor of practice in multimedia journalism at Boston University, to be recognized along with other top honorees this summer at NABJ’s 38th Annual […]