## Minutes of the May 2014 Faculty Meeting

The May Faculty Meeting was held on Tuesday the 13th at 3:00 PM in COM 209. Those present were: Dean Fiedler, Associate Dean Shanahan, Assistant Dean Mahoney, Assistant Dean Sabovik, Assistant Dean Cotter, Professors Austin, Berkovitz, Bernstein, Boches, Burak, Cakebread, Carroll, Carter, Cavalieri, C. Clark, Danielpour, Danehey, Davis, Downes, Egleson, Elasmar, Grundmann, Groshek, Hall, Jaramillo, Johnson, Kauffman, Katz, Lambert, Lehr, Manoff, McKeen, Mehren, Merzbacher, Oppliger, Perron, Poister, Quigley, Ryan, Sahl, Shanler, Schneider, Shorr, Smith, Southwick, Starr, Supa, Thompson, Tsay-Vogel, Ureneck, Verret, Vigil, Walsh, Walker, Waller, Wright and Zuckoff.

- 1. Dean Fiedler opened up the meeting with a request for approval of April minutes. Motion made, second and approved.
- 2. Professor Peter Smith then presented proposals from the Curriculum committee for approval. First was a redesign of the Journalism existing Master's Degree programs to create one robust Master's in Journalism Degree. The Science Degree would remain unchanged. This motion made, second and approved. Second were four (4) Emerging Media Studies classes. EM544, Social Consequences of Emerging Media; EM593, The Psychology of Emerging Media; EM757, User Producers 2.0: Developing Creativity: and EM 797 Connecting Humans: Networks and Social Media. Motion made, second and approved.
- 3. Assistant Dean Sabovik presented undergraduate and graduate students for graduation certification pending any academic issues. Any issues should be brought to the attention of Associate Director of Student Services, Ryan Thurston. Motion made, second and approved.
- 4. Assistant Dean Mahoney conducted the Standing Committee Elections for 2014-2015. Elected were the following: Professor Donald Wright was re-elected to the Appointment, Promotion and Tenure committee along with Associate Professor John Klarfeld. Associate Professor John Kelly and Associate Professor H. Denis Wu were elected to the Academic Affairs Committee. Assistant Professor Cheryl Ann Lambert and Assistant Professor Mina Tsay-Vogel were elected to the Curriculum Committee. Professor Lou Ureneck and Associate Professor Ed Downes were elected to the COM Faculty Council. List of all committee members is attached to these minutes.
- 5. Dean Fiedler showed the COM 100 Video.
- 6. Associate Dean Shanahan opened the discussion on the COMCO101/201 discussion continued from April. He started with how curriculum proposals should work in the College. He noted that the *ad hoc* Committee made recommendations, not necessarily to be acted on immediately. The recommendations will be presented to Curriculum Committee for action in Fall 14.

Discussion ensued. Professor Schneider states that COM is not a trade school. That is a "false pretense." "No-one says that Engineering is a trade school." F/TV is looking to reduce requirements by two (2) to three (3) courses. Cinema and Media Studies degree has eleven (11) core requirements. Students who take the degree from COM vs. CAS lose two (2) courses of electives to core requirements. FTV wants to add three (3) courses to its Major requirements from core requirements. They would like nine (9) to twelve (12) required course for BA/BS FTV. Changing foundation courses from nineteen (19) to sixteen (16) or even fifteen (15).

Professor Ureneck: One point of pride: core liberal arts requirements should follow a more specific genre. Students should almost minor in, say, history. Helps to have Journalism students leave with substantial knowledge in History, Language or International Relations.

Asked if this proposal would endanger accreditation? Professor Don Wright answered in the affirmative.

Professor Barton Carter stated that there are nineteen (19) courses in his department (MCADPR) between required and electives, twenty (20) including COMCO101.

Professor Debbie Danielpour stated this proposal is to stimulate conversation and have internal discussions in departments. Associate Director of Student Services, Ryan Thurston stated the advising staff would encourage students to pull from concentrations and gain expertise.

Shanahan reminds faculty that we need to be prepared for unintended consequences. Do we think students need more courses besides nine (9)? FTV: YES, MCADPR: does not have the faculty to make this change. Journalism: NO.

Professor Carter mentioned perhaps we consider distribution options. Professor Don Wright stated if we require everything to be the same we are pigeonholing our students. There should be separate requirements per department.

Professor Charles Merzbacher believes this in an insolvable dilemma. Supports separate requirements for departments.

Professor Kate Burak requests document goes back to committee.

Dean Fiedler wants to remain flexible on accreditation for the Journalism Department.

Professor Sam Kaufmann states that the history of the College has everyone tethered to Journalism nine (9) courses and the Film & Television Department needs to be freed so it can move more positively in the direction of other schools and colleges.

Professor Ureneck states he believes this motion to adopt the *ad hoc* committee's recommendation is too specific.

Professor Merzbacher states there are no specific ideas and nothing prevents Journalism from structuring its own major. He suggests that there should be a baseline of COM experience and then Departments go on to structure their own degrees.

Professor Amy Shanler is concerned that there are no cross-departmental requirements.

Professor Merzbacher would like the faculty to instruct the Curriculum Committee to accept the recommendation of the *ad hoc* committee.

Professor Elasmar believes it should go to Curriculum Committee for review.

Professor John Hall states that leaving 201 undecided vs. up to departments affects the students, and the writing center. Grammar can't be taught at every level.

Many faculty voice disagreement with that premise.

Professor Danielpour states that FT201 is in effect and other departments should come up with their own 201 level courses.

Associate Dean Shanahan presents a potential motion:

- 1. Thank *ad hoc* committee for all their work.
- 2. The faculty agree that the results are thoughtful and useful and do require action
- 3. The faculty directs the Curriculum committee to review and present proposal at November 2014 faculty meeting.

Professor Schneider agrees.

Professor Smith, chair of Curriculum Committee requests detailed reports from each department before they begin the study of proposal.

Professor Merzbacher withdraws his proposal for immediate action. Calls for vote on Associate Dean's proposal. Motion made, second and approved.

Meeting adjourned at 5:00 pm.

Meeting Adjourned at 5:00PM