The Jerome A. Nachman Writing Awards

The Jerome A. Nachman Writing Awards honor students whose writing represents the very best work produced in the writing program.

At the end of each academic year, the 201 faculty hosts a feature/profile writing contest open to all students who have taken CO 201 during that academic year. The faculty award three prizes of $500, $300 and $200 to the top three entries, and the winning pieces are featured on the CO201 Magazine website.

Established at the College of Communication in 2004 through the generosity of his friends and family, The Jerome A. Nachman Writing Awards honor the legacy of Jerry Nachman, a distinguished journalist whose career spanned television, radio, and print. Nachman’s career included stints at NBC, CBS, and the New York Post, among others. At CBS, he rose from radio and TV reporter for the New York-owned stations to news director at WCBS-TV. At NBC, he held positions as vice president, news for the owned television stations and vice president/general manager for both WRC-TV and WRC-A.M., in Washington D.C.

Nachman was also a columnist and later an editor for the New York Post. He finished his career at MSNBC, where he was editor in chief and the host of a daily news show, NACHMAN. Respected for his talent and versatility as a writer, editor, and broadcaster, Nachman received prestigious industry awards, including a Peabody Award, an Emmy Award, and an Edward R. Murrow Award.

In the words of fellow media executive Bob Sherman, a close friend and founder of the Jerome A. Nachman Writing Awards, “Jerry’s energy and passion for news was evident to all who watched, knew, and admired him. His drive and success as a journalist, editor, and media executive was in many ways a testament to his communication skills. His special way with words was extraordinary and inspirational and never more so than when expressed through his writings.”

As a journalist friend of Jerry’s wrote after his passing, “Jerry Nachman taught me that journalism cannot exist without humanity. First, do no harm – and then, write well.”

2011 Recipients

2010 Recipients

Charlotte Rand, An Exotic Balance
Erika Smith, Art Too Bad To Be Ignored

2009 Recipients

2008 Recipients

2007 Recipients

Jillian Jorgensen, Man Of The House
Krista Ruffini, A ‘Special Education’ Defined

2006 Recipients

Katherine Geyer, ’07 MS, Counting Crows: How Local Veterinarians are Protecting New England from a Public Health Crisis
Meghan Keaney, ’07 MS, Sleeping Through Delaware
Kathryn Actis-Grande, ’08, #71952
Sara Hawley, ’09, For Never Was There a Story of More Woe, Than This of Mr. Thomas A. Marcello
Andra Brosy, ’08, Point/Counterpoint: Pei-Yeh Tsai Finds Harmony in Opposites at the Keyboard