COM Dean Mariette DiChristina announced today the recipients of the inaugural COM Dean’s Awards for Alumni Initiatives and Innovation, recognizing exceptional and innovative individual staff or faculty activities and contributions to the mission of Boston University’s College of Communication.

“COM staff and faculty do amazing work day in and day out,” said DiChristina. “Our first year’s winners, however, have been exceptionally innovative and effective.”

The first award was shared by a group of COM staff members: Jacob Boucher, Joseph Campos, Brad Fernandes, Jake Kassen, Steve Theer, and Jenn Underhill. Their work in helping their COM colleagues adapt and transition rapidly in the face of the current COVID-19 pandemic helped support the entire college community.

The second award was also shared. Amy Shanler and Justin Joseph, both associate professors of the practice for public relations, were recognized for overseeing 122 COM students delivering $208,250 of in-kind services to help five nonprofit clients as part of PRLab’s ProBono 2019.

The awards, funded by the dean’s own personal gifts, were selected by the COM Dean’s Advisory Board based on work that “concretely advances COM’s mission and social purpose” and falls under an annual theme. This year, the theme is “inclusion.”

Each of the two awards was to be for $4,500; this year, the dean added another $1,500 for the group of staff members, so that each receives $1,000 apiece.

View all posts

Post Your Comment