News & Events

JO student work among New England’s best

Dana Hatic, Prof. Susan Walker, Honah Liles, Prof. Elizabeth Mehren, Prof. Michelle Johnson and Mike Neff pose for a photo following the Mark of Excellence awards luncheon.

Boston University journalism students won a raft of awards in the past year for their breaking news and features reporting, and for overall excellence.

Student-run media (BUTV-10, WTBU Radio, Boston University News Service and the independent Daily Free Press) were among the winners of “Mark of Excellence” awards presented by the Society of Professional Journalists, Region I, in late April.

BU’s photojournalism students swept the Boston Press Photographer Association contest, winning “Best in Show” and each first, second and third place entry in the News, Features and Sports categories, as well as several other top honors.

Students, both individually and in groups, also won New England Emmy awards and regional Associated Press awards this spring.

BU’s Mark of Excellence Winners:

  • Art/Graphics: “Boston residents flock to the Boston Common to celebrate after Suspect 2 was taken into custody” by staff, The Daily Free Press
  • Television Breaking News Reporting: “Boston Marathon bombings” by staff, BU News Service/BUTV
  • Television In-Depth Reporting: “A Death in Dallas-Anniversary of the JFK Assassination” by Patrick Thomas, BU News Service
  • Best Digital-Only Student Publication: by staff, BU News Service

BU’s Mark of Excellence Finalists:

  • Best All-Around Daily: The Daily Free Press
  • Best Student Magazine: The Comment
  • Art/Graphics: “Spectators flee after an explosion near the finish line of the Boston Marathon” by staff, The Daily Free Press
  • Radio Feature: “City BU Suicide Survivors Day: Anne’s Story” by Jessica Depies, BUTV; “Transgender Awareness” by Jessica Depies, BUTV
  • Radio In-Depth Reporting: “Mobile Massachusetts” by Nick Koop, Amelia Pak-Harvey and Sony Salzman, WTBU Radio Station
  • Online News Reporting: “Triumph, then Tragedy, the Boston Marathon Bombings” by staff, BU News Service

New England Emmy Awards:

  • College/University Newscast, TV Newsroom – A Final Exam Live Every Week, Susan Walker, Director
  • College/University-General Assignment-Serious News, Winner: Triumph, The Tragedy: Marathon Bombings, RD Sahl, Coordinator Michelle Johnson, Web Site Editor
  • College/University Short Form, Non-Fiction, Winner, Fishy Science, Victoria Price, Reporter; Nominees: Adderall Abuse, Alexa Dragoumis, Reporter; Alzheimer’s Disease, Tiana Bohner, Reporter
  • College/University Long Form, Fiction, Winner: Welcome Back / Episode: “Theodore” Boston University / BUTV10, Emily Sheehan, Producer Sam Hayes, Producer Amanda Domuracki, Producer; Nominees: Bay State / Episode 138: “A Cinderella Story,” Boston University / BUTV10, Lee Ann Carluccio, Producer Evan Tuohey, Producer
  • College University, Sports, Winner: Proud To BU, Boston University / BUTV10, John-Michael Sedor, Producer Christophor Cavalieri, Faculty Advisor
  • College/University, Commercial, Nominees: COM In A Day, Boston University, College of Communication, Max Belin, Producer Will Dowsett, Producer Greg Huntoon, Producer Aaron Bland, Producer Micha Sabovik, Advisor
  • College/University, Animation/Graphics/Special Effects, Nominees: A Death In Dallas, Patrick Thomas, Reporter RD Sahl, Editor Michelle Johnson, Web Editor
  • College/University Editor, Winner: COM In A Day, Boston University, College of Communication, Max Belin, Editor/Producer Micha Sabovik, Advisor

Boston Press Photographer Association

  • Video/Multimedia First Place: Justin Douglas Saglio, Boston University
  • Best in Show: Melanie Rieders, Photo: Swearing In
  • News
    • 1st – Taylor Hartz, Photo: Firefighters’ Farewell
    • 2nd – Grace Donnelly, Photo: Boston Red Sox Win World Series
    • 3rd – Justin Saglio, Photo: Beacon Street Fire
  • Features
    • 1st – Melanie Rieders, Photo: Swearing In
    • 2nd – Carolyn Bick, Photo: One Run for Boston
    • 3rd – Justin Saglio, Photo: Vigil for Marathon Bombing Victims
  • Sports
    • 1st – Michelle Jay, Photo: Over Board
    • 2nd – Kenshin Okubo, Photo: TD Bank Mayor’s Cup Race
    • 3rd – Michelle Jay, Photo: Find The Puck
  • Portrait
    • 1st – Melanie Rieders, Photo: Officer Lok
    • 2nd – Kenshin Okubo, Photo: Sharon Weissburg
  • Picture Story
    • 1st – Dominique Riofrio, Photo: Pacha Mama
    • 2nd – Taylor Hartz, Photo: Firefighters’ Farewell
  • Video/Multimedia
    • 1st – Justin Douglas Saglio
    • 2nd – Carolyn Bick
    • 3rd – Kathryn Campbell


, , ,