The Boston University College of Communication (COM) honored 12 outstanding seniors during COM’s annual Blue Chip Awards ceremony held on May 16, 2013 which was attended by students, parents, faculty and friends.

The Blue Chip Award, the most prestigious student honor conferred by the College of Communication, recognizes graduating seniors for their achievements across several categories including academic excellence, leadership in college and university organizations, involvement in professional activities and demonstrated talent in their fields of study. This year, 12 students representing each of COM’s three departments were given the award.

Blue Chip recipients from the Department of Film & Television are Cody Brotter (Dobbs Ferry, NY); Justin Wiemer (Fox Point, WI); William Politis (Billerica, MA); and Gaby Grossman (Los Angeles, CA).

Recipients from the Department of Journalism are Mike Neff (Braintree, MA); Victoria Price (Valley Center, CA); and Chelsea Feinstein (Jarrettsville, MD).

Finally, the recipients from the Department of Mass Communication, Advertising and Public Relations are Clarisse Bidad (Washingtonville, NY); Megan Happ (Royersford, PA); Joana Costa Marques (Biscayne, FL); Michael DeFilippis (Cortlandt Manor, NY); and Tiffany Feng (Orange, CA).

“These extraordinary young women and men embody all that is excellent in the College of Communication’s graduating class of 2013; they’re the best of our best,” said Tom Fiedler, Dean of COM. “I can speak for the faculty in saying that, while we’ll miss having them in our classrooms, we’re thrilled knowing that very soon we’ll be able to bask in the glow of their many successes.”

The Blue Chip Awards ceremony is the capstone event to senior week at COM which was followed by Boston University’s 140th Commencement on Sunday, May 19.

View all posts