butv10, Boston University’s student-run television station and website, announced today that it is the recipient of a 2012 Telly Award.

Welcome Back, Brotter, a sitcom about two wayward friends, was selected as a winner in the 33rd annual competition. This year’s recognition also distinguishes butv10 as it marks its fifth consecutive Telly Award in as many years.

“It feels like just yesterday we were freshman in our dorm room, filming something we thought only our friends would watch,” said John Sanderson (COM ’13), co-producer of Welcome Back Brotter. “I still can’t believe how far we’ve come and I’m absolutely thrilled to receive this coveted award.” Co-producer Cody Brotter (COM ’13) added, “It’s incredibly humbling and a real honor for a comedy and a show in its first year on the channel. It’s testament to the efforts of our devoted production and writing staff and all of the support we’ve received from butv10.”

Past butv10 Telly Winners include On That Point, (2011, 2008), Inside Boston (2010), and Bay State (2009).

“Everyone at butv10 is excited especially the Brotter crew and they should be,” said Prof. Christophor Cavalieri, butv10’s faculty advisor. “That four different productions have received Telly recognition five years in a row reflects the dedication of the entire organization. It also infuses everyone’s commitment.”

About the Telly Awards: Founded in 1978, the Telly Awards is the premier award honoring the finest film and video productions, groundbreaking online programming and web commercials, and outstanding local, regional, and cable TV commercials and programs. The Telly Awards annually receives more than 11,000 entries from all 50 states and countries around the world.

About butv10: butv10 and butv10.com is Boston University’s student-produced and managed television station and website. Established in 2005, butv10 is a university-wide resource that presents the work of students via campus channel 10 and live-streaming video or on-demand web content. butv10’s 15 programs and 250 members are based at BU’s College of Communication.

View all posts