CGS Celebrates Capstone Turn-In and Recognizes Student Leaders

in Alumni, News and Events, Students
May 16th, 2018

It’s a CGS tradition– the celebratory Capstone turn-in! Sophomore students officially turn in their Capstone projects, the final product of two years of interdisciplinary education, and CGS recognizes students who have excelled in academics and leadership.

Brendan Gilbane Award

This award was established to honor long-time faculty member and dean Brendan F. Gilbane, who served as dean from 1974-2000. Initially nominated by a faculty member, this scholarship is given to a student based on following criteria:

  • plans to continue into either CAS or COM (Dean Gilbane received his bachelor’s degree in journalism from COM and his Ph.D. in history from CAS)
  • excellence in academic performance, as reflected in the faculty nomination and in the student’s academic record
  • a two-page personal statement written by the nominated student, linking the first two years of interdisciplinary general education at CGS with plans for the next two years of study at CAS or COM.

2018 recipient: Danielle Lirette

Linda Bondy-Ives Advisee Award

This annual award is given to a deserving sophomore student who embodies the  values and spirit of Linda Bondy-Ives, who was a dear friend and colleague at CGS. For over 25 years, Linda touched the lives of many students through her energy, kindness, and compassion.

2018 recipient: Rene Colato

The following students received merit scholarships for their academic achievements: Rassa Ebrahim, Jeanne Ilano, B Matthew Arnold, Benjamin Levy, Christina Tavella, Nicole Zimmerman, Camryn DiFiore, Jinshu Yang, Danielle Lirette, Julia Samuelian, Madison Cebular, Cyrus Ettehadieh, and Marissa Kachadoorian.




Comments are closed.