Lynne Allen

Professor of Art; Director, School of Visual Arts |

headshotsmallBS, Kutztown University; MFA, University of New Mexico. Work has been exhibited widely both nationally and internationally, and is included in the collections of the Whitney Museum of American Art, the New York Public Library, the Corcoran Gallery of Art, the Library of Congress, the Springfield (MO) Art Museum, the Minneapolis Museum of Art, the Vesteros Kunst Museum, Sweden, and the Victoria & Albert Museum, as well as numerous corporate collections. Previously Professor of Art at Rutgers University (1989–2006) and Director of the Rutgers Center for Innovative Print and Paper (2000–2006). Also former Master Printer and Educational Director at Tamarind Institute. Work selected for over 100 exhibitions in the United States, including the Brooklyn Museum of Art Digital Now Print National, the Whitney Museum of American Art New Editions, the Boston Printmakers, the Corcoran Gallery of Art, the Portland Art Museum, Honolulu Academy of Arts, among others. International exhibitions include the 21st Ljubljana Print Biennial, the International Print Triennial, Tallinn, Estonia, where she won a diploma award. Work is featured in Print Now published by the Victoria & Albert Museum. Honors include two Fulbright Scholarships (USSR 1990, Jordan 2004–05), two Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Research Grants, a New Jersey State Council on the Arts Fellowship, a Pennsylvania Council on the Arts Grant, and a Pew Fellowship finalist. Other honors include a distinguished international award for a residency at Grafikens Hus, Stockholm. Has written articles for the serial book The Tamarind Papers, as well as the printmaking periodicals, GRAPHEON (Czech Republic)  and Contemporary Impressions (Atlanta). Lectures widely in North America as well as abroad in such countries as Poland, Estonia, Israel, Russia, Sweden, Jordan, Canada, and South Africa. Had artist residencies at the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, and the Plains Art Museum, as well as in Canada, Sweden, Belgium, Russia, Jordan, and South Africa.