Each year, the College of Arts & Sciences honors some of our best educators with a range of teaching awards. These prizes are awarded annually to members of the CAS faculty who exemplify deep and broad commitment, skill, effectiveness, impact, and leadership in teaching. Nominations should be sent electronically to the CAS Undergraduate Academic Program Office (casuap@bu.edu) by Friday, March 17.

The five awards are:

  • Gitner Award for Distinguished Teaching
  • Neu Family Award for Excellence in Teaching
  • Frank and Lynne Wisneski Award for Excellence in Teaching
  • College of Arts & Sciences Award for Distinction in First Year Undergraduate Education
  • Dean’s Award for Excellence in Graduate Education

For past CAS teaching award winners, click here.

Although successful classroom performance and teaching figure as important criteria of excellence, the awards are meant to recognize and reward teaching in its broadest senses, and in all of its aspects. Thus, faculty may be considered for these awards not just for their excellence with respect to timetabled courses, but through the full range of pedagogical and curricular activities in which our faculty are engaged, directed studies of any sort; collaborative scholarship with students; academic advising, mentoring, and career placement; teaching and learning activities connected with advising student organizations and other co-curricular activities; curriculum development; pedagogical innovation; mentoring of teaching fellows or other instructors, etc.

Winners will be recognized at a CAS Faculty Meeting and profiled in university publications and will receive a framed citation and monetary award. A number of past winners have gone on to win all-BU Metcalf awards and teaching prizes conferred by their regional and national professional organizations.


College of Arts & Sciences professorial faculty and full-time lecturers at all ranks are eligible for these awards, regardless of their department or field. Nominees must have already completed at least three years of full-time teaching in the College.

Nomination and Selection Process:

All CAS professorial faculty and full-time lecturers are eligible to submit nominations. They may nominate faculty from any department or program (not just their own). Self-nominations will not be accepted for these awards. Nominations for a College Prize for Excellence in Teaching should not identify a particular award (e.g. Gitner, Neu, or Wisneski), but should focus on Excellence in Teaching. Individuals may nominate candidates for each category of award (Excellence in Teaching, Distinction in First Year Undergraduate Education, Excellence in Graduate Education) but may only nominate one individual for any single category.

Nominations should include the nominee’s CV and a cover letter detailing his or her achievements in educating our students. Co-sponsored nominations are welcome.

For more information, feel free to contact Joe Bizup (jbizup@bu.edu).

Templeton Award for Excellence in Student Advising (3 awards)

These awards for excellence in advising are recognized at the April CAS faculty meeting. These are the result of student nominations through the Office of Student Academic Life.

For past CAS advising award winners, click here.

Other BU and CAS Awards