Impactx2 Logo and Photo

Impact x2 Qais

Impactx2 Content

How can we work together to promote better cultural understanding worldwide?

Qais Akbar Omar (GRS’16), a graduate student in the Creative Writing Program, has published a much-praised memoir, A Fort of Nine Towers: An Afghan Family Story. He recalls how the violence and tumult of civil war jolted his family, who, despite losing relatives, their home, and possessions, continued to nurture his wish to attend a university.

Impactx2 Call to Action

With your help, students like Qais gain the skills they need to tell their story and give us a broader understanding of the world.

Will you support CAS?

Faculty Accolates: September 2010

Professor Emerita of Psychology JEAN BERKO GLEASON will be featured on the PBS series The Secret Life of Scientists in the season that begins this fall. The show explores the personal or “secret” lives and interests of scientists and how they nourish their work lives. Professor Gleason specializes in psycholinguistics, and her publications include The Development of Language, now in its seventh edition.

Professor of Political Science CATHIE JO MARTIN received the Jack Walker Award and Professor DINO CHRISTENSON received the Political Communications Award at the recent American Political Science Association (APSA) Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. Recognizing excellence in the profession is one of the most important activities of the American Political Science Association. To this end, the association has established a number of awards covering such areas as dissertations, papers and articles, books and career achievement. Professor Martin received the Jack Walker Award for “an article published in the last two calendar years that makes an outstanding contribution to research scholarship on political organizations and parties” for her APSR article co-authored with Duane Swank, “The Political Origins of Coordinated Capitalism: Business Organizations, Party Systems and State Structure in the Age of Innocence.” Professor Christenson, who recently joined the department, received the Political Communications Award for the best paper by a graduate student presented at the previous convention for his “Learning From Campaigns: Political Information and Context in Presidential Elections.” Also during this year’s conference, GRAHAM WILSON, professor and chair of the Department of Political Science, was formally invested as president of APSA’s British Politics Group. Wilson will serve as the group’s president for two years starting this month. For more information, click here.

Department of Classical Studies PhD student TYLER TRAVILLIAN has won the Arthur Ross Pre-Doctoral Rome Prize, and will spend this academic year in Rome. Each year, the prize is awarded to 30 emerging artists and scholars in the early or middle stages of their careers who represent the highest standard of excellence in the arts and humanities. Tyler will create a comprehensive introduction, textual edition, and scholarly commentary of the Priapea, a collection of 80 poems that scholars have generally avoided on account of their risqué contents.