Impactx2 Logo and Photo

Impact x2 Qais

Impactx2 Content

How can we work together to promote better cultural understanding worldwide?

Qais Akbar Omar (GRS’16), a graduate student in the Creative Writing Program, has published a much-praised memoir, A Fort of Nine Towers: An Afghan Family Story. He recalls how the violence and tumult of civil war jolted his family, who, despite losing relatives, their home, and possessions, continued to nurture his wish to attend a university.

Impactx2 Call to Action

With your help, students like Qais gain the skills they need to tell their story and give us a broader understanding of the world.

Will you support CAS?

Faculty Accolades

At the College of Arts & Sciences at BU, our faculty includes Nobel Prize winners, Poets Laureate of the United States, National Book Award winners, Guggenheim Fellows, and a host of others recognized by their peers as leaders in their fields. This community of dedicated scholars pushes the boundaries of our knowledge and prepares our students to engage creatively as citizens of the world.

Nobel Laureates

Sheldon Glashow
Elie Wiesel

American Academy of Arts and Letters

Ha Jin
Robert Pinsky
Rosanna Warren
Elie Wiesel

American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Kathryn Bard
Bonnie Costello
Adelaide Cromwell, Emerita
Larry Epstein
Paula Fredriksen, Emerita
Sheldon Glashow
Jeffrey Henderson
Geoffrey Hill
Jaakko J. Hintikka
Ha Jin

Nancy Kopell
Larry Kotlikoff
Sir Hans Kornberg
Leonid Levin
Fred Licht, Emeritus
Robert Pinsky
Bruce Redford
Christopher Ricks
Virginia Sapiro
Roger Shattuck
Rosanna Warren
Elie Wiesel

National Academy of Sciences

Nancy Kopell
Sir Hans Kornberg
Eugene Stanley

National Academy of Engineering

Farouk El-Baz

Former Poets Laureate of the United States

Robert Pinsky (three terms)
Louise Glück

National Book Award

Ha Jin

MacArthur Fellows

Nancy Kopell
Derek Walcott

Guggenheim Fellows

Henry Allison
Jelle Atema
Quianshen Bai
Millicent Bell, Emerita
Alicia Borinsky
Robert Bruce, Emeritus
Charles Capper
Donald Carne-Ross
Walter Connor
Bonnie Costello
Barbara Diefendorf
Leslie Epstein
David Ferry
Aaron Fogel
Thomas Glick
Irene Good
Gennady Gorelik
Jeffrey Henderson
Patricia Hills
Jaakko Hintikka
James Johnson

Caroline Jones
William Keylor
John Kirk
Fred Kleiner
Nancy Kopell
Aileen Kraditor
Leonid Levin
James McCann

Jeffrey Mehlman
Seymour Michael Miller, Emeritus
Susan Mizruchi
Dilip Mookherjee
Fallou Ngom

Robert Pinsky
Maureen Raymo
Bruce Redford
Abner Shimony, Emeritus
John Silber, Emeritus
Eugene Stanley
Lawrence Sulak
Murad Taqqu
William Vance, Emeritus
Rosanna Warren
Robert Weller
James Winn

James Wiseman