Impactx2 Logo and Photo

Impact x2 Qais

Impactx2 Content

How can we work together to promote better cultural understanding worldwide?

Qais Akbar Omar (GRS’16), a graduate student in the Creative Writing Program, has published a much-praised memoir, A Fort of Nine Towers: An Afghan Family Story. He recalls how the violence and tumult of civil war jolted his family, who, despite losing relatives, their home, and possessions, continued to nurture his wish to attend a university.

Impactx2 Call to Action

With your help, students like Qais gain the skills they need to tell their story and give us a broader understanding of the world.

Will you support CAS?

Two CAS Professors Elected to Academy of Arts and Sciences

April 26th, 2013

CAS Professor of Economics Larry Epstein, a pioneer in the field of decision theory, and Aurelio Professor of Scripture Emerita Paula Fredriksen, an expert on the history of ancient Christianity, have been elected a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS). They join some of the world’s most accomplished leaders from academia, business, public affairs, the humanities, and the arts. The list of the new members is located at

Epstein studies the choices people make in different situations to find common behaviors that should underlie their choices regardless of the situation. Decision theory is part of the broader field of behavioral economics. Fredriksen has published widely on the social and intellectual history of ancient Christianity, and on pagan-Jewish-Christian relations in the Graeco-Roman world. Election to the Academy represents a strong acknowledgement of Epstein and Fredriksen’s contributions to their fields.

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the Academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to Academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, and the humanities, arts, and education.

“Election to the Academy honors individual accomplishment and calls upon members to serve the public good,” said Academy President Leslie C. Berlowitz. “We look forward to drawing on the knowledge and expertise of these distinguished men and women to advance solutions to the pressing policy challenges of the day.”

Members of the 2013 class include winners of the Nobel Prize; National Medal of Science; the Lasker Award; the Pulitzer and the Shaw prizes; the Fields Medal; MacArthur and Guggenheim fellowships; the Kennedy Center Honors; and Grammy, Emmy, Academy, and Tony awards.

Post Your Comment