Faculty


Maria-Abate-150x150Maria Abate
(mabate@bu.edu)
Visiting Researcher, BU Department of Biology
Assistant Professor, Simmons College
PhD, Northeastern University, 1998
Marine ecology, fish biology, evolution and genomics, animal behavior.

 

 

 

jelle_atema-150x150Jelle Atema (atema@bu.edu)
Professor of Biology
PhD, University of Michigan, 1969
Sensory biology, animal behavior, receptor physiology, behavioral ecology, robotics.

 

 

 

Bruce-Anderson-150x148Bruce Anderson (brucea@bu.edu)
Associate Professor of Earth and Environment
PhD, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, 1998
Regional climate modeling; impacts of climate variability; Atmospheric dynamics and hydrodynamics.

 

 

 

jennifer-bender-150x150Jennifer Bender (ferre@alum.bu.edu)
Lecturer, BU Marine Program
PhD, Boston University, 2005
Coastal policy, integration of science into policy and decision-making, decision support tools, NGO administration.

 

 

 

Pete-Buston-150x150Peter Buston (buston@bu.edu)
Assistant Professor of Biology
PhD, Cornell University, 2002
Ecology, evolution and behavior of coral reef fishes.

 

 

 

Sarah-Davies-150x150Sarah Davies (daviessw@gmail.com)
Assistant Professor, Biology, (Starting September 2017)
Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin, 2014
Ecological genomics, population genetics, molecular ecology, coral ecology, climate change, symbiosis.

 

 

 

Sergio-Fagherazzi-150x150Sergio Fagherazzi (sergio@bu.edu)
Associate Professor of Earth & Environment
PhD, University of Padua, Italy, 1999
Coastal and marine geology, geomorphology, and hydrology.

 

 

 

Cedric_Fichot-150x150

Cedric Fichot (cgfichot@bu.edu)
Assistant Professor of Earth & Environment
PhD, University of South Carolina, 2013
Marine optics, remote sensing, coastal and estuarine biogeochemistry, photochemistry, water quality.

 

 

 

John-Finnerty-150x150John R. Finnerty (jrf3@bu.edu)
Associate Professor of Biology and Associate Director of BU Marine Program
PhD, University of Chicago, 1994
Evolutionary ecology and organismal biology.

 

 

 

Dunc.reduced-e1471464274609-150x150Duncan M. FitzGerald (dunc@bu.edu)
Associate Professor of Earth & Environment
PhD, University of South Carolina, 1977
Shallow marine geology and the coastal zone to the inner continental shelf.

 

 

 

Wally-Fulweiler-150x150Robinson W. Fulweiler (rwf@bu.edu)
Assistant Professor of Earth & Environment and Biology; Director of BU Marine Program
PhD, University of Rhode Island, 2007
Coastal ecology, nutrient biogeochemical cycling in wetlands and near-shore ocean environments, climate change.

 

 

 

SuchiGopal-150x150Sucharita Gopal (suchi@bu.edu)
Professor of Earth and Environment & Center for Remote Sensing
PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara, 1988
Neural networks in GIS and remote sensing, spatial analysis and multi-scale modeling, and information technology.

 

 

 

Les-Kaufman-150x150Les Kaufman (lesk@bu.edu)
Professor of Biology
PhD, Johns Hopkins University, 1980
Evolution and conservation of aquatic species, ecological plasticity, and fish ecology.

 

 

 

andrew-kurtz-150x150Andrew C. Kurtz (kurtz@bu.edu)
Assistant Professor of Earth & Environment
PhD, Cornell University, 2000
Biogeochemical cycles, Earth surface processes and Earth history.

 

 

 

lobel_philip-150x150Phillip S. Lobel (plobel@bu.edu)
Professor of Biology
PhD, Harvard University, 1979
Ichthyology, behavior ecology and taxonomy of fishes.

 

 

 

rick-murray-150x150Richard W. Murray (rickm@bu.edu)
Professor, Earth & Environment
PhD, University of California at Berkeley, 1991
Marine geochemistry, oceanography, and climate history.

 

 

 

Randi-Rotjan-150x150Randi Rotjan (rrotjan@neaq.org)
Lecturer, Biology
PhD, Tufts University, 2007
Urban Marine Ecology, Coral Reef Ecosystems

 

 

 

BrookeWikgren-150x150Brooke Wikgren (bwikgren@bu.edu)
Lecturer, Earth and Environment
M En., Miami University, 2010
Geographic Information Systems (GIS) in the marine environment.