Law on the Bank of Mexico of 1993


(amended through 2010)

The Law on the Bank of Mexico (Ley del Banco de México) establishes the Bank of Mexico as an autonomous public institution in charge of promoting both the sound development of the financial system and the adequate functioning of the payment systems in Mexico.

The law is organized as follows:

  • Chapter I Nature, Purpose and Functions;
  • Chapter II Issuance and Circulation of Currency;
  • Chapter III Operations;
  • Chapter IV International Reserves and the Foreign Exchange System;
  • Chapter V Issuance of Norms and Sanctions;
  • Chapter VI Governance and Oversight:
    • Includes provisions on regulation of interest rates, assets and liabilities and operations with customers (Art. 26); and
  • Chapter VII General Provisions.