Code of Bank’s Commitments to Customers


(enacted in 2009)

The Code of Bank’s Commitments to Customers of 2009, issued by the Banking Codes and Standards Board of India (BCSBI), sets minimum standards of banking practices for banks to follow when they are dealing with individual customers.

This code consists of the following twelve sections:

  • Introduction;
  • Key Commitments;
  • Information-Transparency;
  • Advertising, Marketing, and Sales;
  • Privacy and Confidentiality;
  • Collection of dues;
  • Complaints, Grievances, and Feedback;
  • Products and Services;
  • Protecting Your Accounts;
  • Monitoring;
  • Getting Help; and
  • Review of the Code.