American Beauty, Tuesday, July 25, showing at 4:30 and 7:30 p.m., GSU Conference Auditorium

Vol. III No. 36   ·   Week of 23 June 2000

Search the Bridge

B.U. Bridge is published by the Boston University Office of University Relations.

Contact Us


Bulletin Board

Giles to be honored by Computing Research Association

The Computing Research Association (CRA) recently announced that ENG’s Roscoe Giles will receive the 2000 A. Nico Habermann Award for outstanding contributions to aiding members of underrepresented groups within the computing research community.

Giles, an associate professor of electrical and computer engineering, is also deputy director of BU’s Center for Computational Science. He will be presented with the award on July 10, at the CRA Conference at Snowbird, Utah.

“Roscoe’s many years of championing programs for those not typically represented in computational and computer science have resulted in changes in the lives of countless students and faculty,” says Ann Redelfs, director of educational outreach and training for the National Partnership for Advanced Computational Infrastructure. “The fact that he has received the Habermann award is a testimony to the value of his contributions, and I can think of no one more deserving.”

The award is named after the late A. Nico Habermann, who headed the National Science Foundation’s Computer and Information Science and Engineering Directorate until his death in 1993.

Free Museum of Science tickets for faculty and staff

Boston University recently renewed its corporate membership to the Boston Museum of Science, entitling full-time faculty and staff at BU to free exhibit hall tickets.

The limited number of passes will be distributed on a first-come, first-served basis until the supply is exhausted. In order to allow as many employees as possible to take advantage of this offer, a maximum of three tickets per person may be obtained at the Charles River Campus’ Office of Personnel front desk on the second floor of 25 Buick St., and at the BU Medical Campus’ Office of Personnel, 560 Harrison Ave., from Shaundra Sullivan.

Those interested must present a BU ID card. Passes will not be reserved by phone or mailed to employees, and may not be picked up for other employees. For more information, call Scott Forrester at 353-4466 or e-mail

Christo receives radio award

Jane Christo, general manager of WBUR-FM, recently received the annual Edward R. Murrow Award from the Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB).

She heads The WBUR Group, which operates and manages 90.9 WBUR-FM in Boston, 1240 WBUR-AM in West Yarmouth, Mass., 1290 WNRI-AM in Providence, and 1230 WXNI in Westerly, R.I.

The Murrow Award is the highest honor designated for public radio, according to Robert Coonrod, CPB president and CEO. “Jane Christo has made public radio the source for news, culture, and education in New England,” he says. “Her leadership and foresight have set an example for all of us in public broadcasting as we strive to meet the changing expectations of our audience.”

WBUR-FM has received other broadcasting honors under Christo’s management, including a News Station of the Year Award from the Associated Press in 1999 and three Peabody Awards. Under her leadership, the station’s weekly cumulative audience climbed from 80,000 in 1979 to 420,000 in 1999.



23 June 2000
Boston University
Office of University Relations