Category: awards

More great news from KCACTF

April 17th, 2020 in awards, Blog, Eliana Pipes, KCACTF, new plays

Second-year MFA playwright Eliana Pipes has been named the recipient of the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival’s Ken Ludwig Playwriting Scholarship. The award, given annually, is based on a student playwright’s body of work. Congratulations!

Great news from KCACTF

March 23rd, 2020 in Alexis Scheer, Alums, awards, Blog, Caity-Shea Violette, Cayenne Douglass, KCACTF, Laughs in Spanish, new plays, short plays

L-R: Jackie Davis and Krystal Hernandez in Alexis Scheer's Laughs in Spanish (Photo: Kalman Zabarsky)

Playwright alum Alexis Scheer’s Laughs in Spanish, produced by BPT in 2019, is the recipient of KCACTF’s Harold and Mimi Steinberg National Student Playwriting Award. The award includes a check for $7,500, membership in the Dramatists Guild of America and the Playwrights’ Center of Minneapolis, an offer of publication from Samuel French, and a professional development residency, to be determined, in summer 2020. More

Pipes awarded AMPAS fellowship

October 22nd, 2019 in awards, Blog, Eliana Pipes, film, grants

Eliana Pipes (Photo:

Second-year playwright Eliana Pipes was awarded the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences's Academy Gold Fellowship for Women, a $35,000 grant for her first feature film, a comedy titled Fauxricua. Congratulations!

Rockwell wins ATHE Playwriting Award

August 12th, 2019 in Alums, awards, Blog, Kira Rockwell, new plays, The Tragic Ecstasy of Girlhood

Kira Rockwell is the 2019 recipient of The Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE) Judith Royer Excellence in Playwriting Award for her play The Tragic Ecstasy of Girlhood. Congratulations!

Big awards for Pipes and Lopez

May 23rd, 2019 in Alums, awards, Blog, Eliana Pipes, Elliot Norton Awards, Lilly Awards, Melinda Lopez, new plays

Photo credit: The Lilly Awards

With all the activity surrounding Boston Theater Marathon XXI, it's been busy around here! And there's even more to celebrate: While we were wrapping up the BTM (May 19), current MFA playwright Eliana Pipes was at the Lilly Awards ceremony in NYC, where she received the 2019 Leah Ryan Prize for Emerging Women Writers for her play DREAM HOU$E! More

Snodgrass receives 2019 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Graduate Education

May 9th, 2019 in Alums, awards, Blog, Boston Playwrights' Theatre, boston university, Kate Snodgrass

BPT Artistic Director and MFA Program Director Kate Snodgrass was among those honored on May 8 during the final faculty meeting of the year. Dean Stan Sclaroff and Acting Associate Dean for Undergraduate Academic Programs and Policies Arianne Chernock honored the winners of this year's CAS teaching awards.

"Professor Snodgrass has helped make BU the premiere site for graduate training in playwriting that it is today. Professor Snodgrass’s students praise her for her honest feedback, eagerness to treat them as peers, and tireless efforts to help them realize their professional ambitions. Yet what truly distinguishes Professor Snodgrass’s teaching is her commitment to community-building."

Congratulations, Kate!

Zacarías receives LPTW’s Lee Reynolds Award

April 11th, 2019 in Alums, awards, Blog, Karen Zacarías

Karen Zacarias accepting The Lee Reynolds Award. Photo credit: Karin Shook

Alumni playwright Karen Zacarías received the League of Professional Theatre Women's Lee Reynolds Award on March 25. The annual award is given to a woman in theatre who has helped illuminate the possibilities for social, cultural, or political change.

Noone ‘Best Playwright’ at 1st Irish

February 7th, 2019 in Alums, awards, Blog, new plays, New York City, Ronan Noone

Playwright alum and adjunct assistant professor Ronan Noone received the 11th annual Original 1st Irish Theatre Festival's Best Playwright award  for his play The Smuggler. The awards were announced during the closing ceremony of the two-week event. Congratulations!

Lopez awarded MCC fellowship

January 30th, 2019 in Alums, awards, Blog, Massachusetts Cultural Council, Melinda Lopez

Adjunct Assistant Professor and playwright alum Melinda Lopez was awarded a 2019 Dramatic Writing Fellowship by the Mass Cultural Council. Congratulations!

Shea’s ‘The Stand’ named national award winner in 2019 Glaspell Playwriting Festival

January 28th, 2019 in awards, Blog, Caity-Shea Violette, new plays, short plays

First-year MFA playwright Caity-Shea Violette's short play The Stand has been announced as the national winner in QC Theatre Workshop's 2019 Susan Glaspell Playwriting Festival! Congratulations!