Playwrights’ Perspective

OCC win for Scheer’s ‘Drug Lord’

By Editor
May 18th, 2020 in Alexis Scheer, Alums, Blog.

Congratulations to playwright alum Alexis Scheer, one of four recipients of the 2019-2020 Outer Critics Circle's John Gassner Award for Our Dear Dead Drug Lord!

Meleady wins Nortie for ‘the smuggler’

By Editor
May 12th, 2020 in Alums, Blog, new plays, Ronan Noone, the smuggler.

Congratulations to Billy Meleady, who won the Elliot Norton Award for Outstanding Solo Performance for his turn in Ronán Noone’s the smuggler!

‘The Rosenbergs’ selected for IOTF

By Editor
April 22nd, 2020 in Blog, The Rosenbergs.

L-R: Christie Lee Gibson, Brian Church (Photo: Kalman Zabarsky)

The North American premiere of The Rosenbergs—produced by Boston University and Brandeis University, and presented by Boston Playwrights’ Theatre (BPT) in 2018—has been selected for the second annual IOTF: The International Online Theatre Festival. The Festival performance of The Rosenbergs was filmed during the opera’s run at BPT, and is available for free online until May 15.

This tragic love story—set during the United States’ Communist witch-hunt of the 1950s—is based on the lives of Julius and Ethel Rosenberg, who were executed for atomic espionage. The Rosenbergs features a score by Joachim Holbek and a libretto by Rhea Leman. Dmitry Troyanovsky directed the production with musical direction by Cristi Catt. Christie Lee Gibson and Brian Church portray Ethel and Julius Rosenberg.

A conversation with members of the creative team of The Rosenbergs will be held on May 10 at 2 p.m. EDT in the Festival’s “Zoom Room.” Details:

The Rosenbergs was generously supported by the Elie Wiesel Center for Jewish Studies at Boston University, the Jewish Cultural Endowment at Boston University, the Brandeis Arts Council, the Boston University Center for the Humanities, and through an arts grant from the BU Arts Initiative—Office of the Provost.

More great news from KCACTF

By Editor
April 17th, 2020 in awards, Blog, Eliana Pipes, KCACTF, new plays.

Second-year MFA playwright Eliana Pipes has been named the recipient of the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival's Ken Ludwig Playwriting Scholarship. The award, given annually, is based on a student playwright's body of work. Congratulations!

BTMXXII: Special Zoom Edition schedule of plays

By Editor
March 29th, 2020 in Alums, Blog, Boston Theater Marathon XXII, new plays, short plays.

Boston Theater Marathon XXII: Special Zoom Edition features readings of ten-minute plays by New England playwrights in collaboration with New England theatres, via the video conferencing tool Zoom. Audiences are encouraged to lend their support to area theatre companies and to the Theatre Community Benevolent Fund, which provides financial support to theatres and theatre artists in times of need.

Readings begin on April 2 at 12 noon EDT, and will happen daily through May 17! To join, click on the link below from your computer, phone, or other device. You’ll need the Zoom app to participate (it's free!), and it is recommended you call in a few minutes before “curtain” time.

The cast list for each day's reading will be available on; theatre links can also be found there and via the Zoom interface itself.


April 2
Three Ladybugs by Vicki Meagher
Sponsored by Boston Playwrights’ Theatre
Directed by Darren Evans

Atheist Ladybug:  Melinda Lopez
Believer Ladybug:  Karen MacDonald
Agnostic Ladybug:  Paula Plum
Voice of Woman:  Kate Snodgrass
Voice of Man:  Darren Evans
Stage Directions:  K. Alexa Mavromatis

Three ladybugs—a Believer, an Agnostic, and an Atheist, ponder the existence of other species. Two humans, a man and woman (not seen), ponder the existence of God. But don’t kill that ladybug—it’s bad luck! Or is it?


Don't Be a Scrooge by James C. Ferguson
Sponsored by Moonbox Productions
Directed by Andrew Child

Featuring Karina Wen, Sara Kenney, Alyssa Germaine, Liz Eacmen, Gavin Damore, and Michael Eckenreiter

Everyone knows the events of Charles Dickens' famous story A Christmas Carol. But do you know what happened after…?

April 3
Sked Du Al by Ronán Noone
Sponsored by Northeastern University Dept. of Theatre
Directed by Jonathan Carr

Benny:  Carla J. McDonough
Don:  Peri Griffiths
Stage Directions:  Samantha Richert

Interrogation. Repeat after me. (Learn English, why don’t you?)


Great news from KCACTF

By Editor
March 23rd, 2020 in Alexis Scheer, Alums, awards, Blog, Caity-Shea Violette, Cayenne Douglass, KCACTF, Laughs in Spanish, new plays, short plays.

L-R: Jackie Davis and Krystal Hernandez in Alexis Scheer's Laughs in Spanish (Photo: Kalman Zabarsky)

Playwright alum Alexis Scheer’s Laughs in Spanish, produced by BPT in 2019, is the recipient of KCACTF’s Harold and Mimi Steinberg National Student Playwriting Award. The award includes a check for $7,500, membership in the Dramatists Guild of America and the Playwrights’ Center of Minneapolis, an offer of publication from Samuel French, and a professional development residency, to be determined, in summer 2020. More

A new plan for BTM XXII

By Editor
March 16th, 2020 in Blog.

Boston Theater Marathon XXII—scheduled for April 19—has been cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic. This was to have been the first BTM held at our home theatre on Comm Ave. since 2004.

The BTM is an annual benefit for the Theatre Community Benevolent Fund (TCBF) and in support of the organization's commitment to provide aid to Boston's theatre community, Boston Playwrights' Theatre will publish an anthology of the plays selected for the event. Proceeds from the anthology will benefit TCBF. (Full details to come—watch this space.)

As is tradition, we asked the theatre companies committed to participate in BTM XXII to select a play. Those pairings are here:

Acropolis Stage (John Kuntz’s 12 Days)

Acting Out Productions (Jack Neary’s Pearly Gates)

Actors’ Shakespeare Project (R. D. Murphy’s Glenda Jackson in a Bodega I Am Not)

Actors' Studio of Newburyport (Scott Sullivan’s The Handle)

American Repertory Theater (Terrence Kidd’s Strained Bedfellows) More

Poster for ‘Deal Me Out’

By Editor
February 14th, 2020 in 2019/2020 Season, Alums, Blog, Deal Me Out, MJ Halberstadt, new plays.

Plays and playwrights of BTM XXII

By Editor
February 13th, 2020 in Alums, Blog, Boston Theater Marathon XXII, new plays, short plays.

Rosanna Yamagiwa Alfaro, Turbulence: A Monologue

Andrea Aptecker, Unapologetic

Taylor Badoyen, A Call to Mom

Richard Ballon, Glissade

Alan Brody, Cain  More

KCACTF Region 1 update

By Editor
February 6th, 2020 in Ally Sass, Blog, Caity-Shea Violette, Daniel Blanda, KCACTF, new plays, short plays.

Rehearsing Isla and Her Earth (L-R): Scott Ziolecki from LaGuardia Community College and Mae Harrington from Boston College

Three of our second-year playwrights were honored at the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival's (KCACTF) Region 1 Festival in Hyannis:

Caity-Shea Violette’s ten-minute play Slow Jam was chosen to advance to the National KCACTF, one of 16 selected across the country—two per region—for consideration for the Gary Garrison National Ten-Minute Play Award.

Daniel Blanda’s Isla and Her Earth won the Region 1 Planet Earth Arts Playwriting Prize for ten-minute plays that address issues of climate change, the environment, and surrounding issues of urgent concern.

Ally Sass’s one-act The Cleanout won the Region 1 John Cauble Award for Outstanding Short Play.